Author Topic: Help understanding "negate"  (Read 1191 times)

Offline Leighfy

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • -
    • South Central Region
Help understanding "negate"
« on: November 09, 2020, 03:12:50 PM »
0
So I just got a starter pack with Decks I & J, and I played a practice game against myself (yeah) to see if I understood the rules.  Anyway I made a series of plays that I weren't sure were legal, as follows:

I: made a rescue attempt with Angel at Bethesda (3/1)
J: blocked with Controlling Demon (4/11)
I: having initiative, played the enhancement "Overwhelming Presence" (3/3) with special ability: "Underdeck all Evil Characters in battle," and so underdecked J's Controlling Demon

**And this is where I don't understand how and when the "Negate" applies:**

J: played the enhancement "Evil Strength" (3/3) with special ability: "Negate and discard the last good enhancement played in battle," and so discarded I's "Overwhelming Presence" and re-entered J's underdecked Controlling Demon
I: played the enhancement "Glad Tidings" (1/4) with special ability: "Negate and discarded the last evil enhancement in battle," and so discarded J's "Evil Strength," un-discarded I's "Overwhelming Presence," and re-underdecked J's Controlling Demon thereby resolving the battle in I's favor.

Is that right??

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3264
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Help understanding "negate"
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2020, 03:28:20 PM »
0
The series of plays is basically correct, but you have to play Evil Strength BEFORE Controlling Demon is underdecked.

Overwhelming Presence grants what we call "Special Initiative". Any time an ability would leave you with no characters in battle (like Overwhelming Presence underdecking Controlling Demon), you have initiative to play an Enhancement that would negate that ability. If you do not use something to negate the ability, it completes and then you don't have a character to play the negate on.

Special Initiative is the only instance where you can play something before another card finishes. If the I deck had played something that passed initiative but didn't remove Controlling Demon, your scenario would be correct.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2020, 03:35:00 PM by RedemptionAggie »