Author Topic: John vs Sapphira - what happens?  (Read 542 times)

Offline Bardoly

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • Midwest Region
John vs Sapphira - what happens?
« on: September 12, 2020, 09:47:29 PM »
0
Hello all!

I don't see an introduction board here.  If there is one, then someone please point me to it.  :)

Anyway, I was at a Christian bookstore here in northwest Indiana yesterday, and I stumbled across this game for the first time that I remember, and I decided that this might be something fun to try with my boys.  They had the 4th Edition Starter Decks, some booster packs from 4-5 different sets, and one 10th Anniversary Collector's Edition Starter Decks set - It was $10 compared to $12.50 for the 4th Edition, so I picked it up.  Later last night, I dug into this game some, and I found this forum and registered.  Today, I've been watching various Redemption videos on YouTube and reading through the rulebook.  I'm playing through a 'trial run of the game right now, and I have a rules question:

One deck had the hero 'John in play attempting a rescue.  The other deck has an evil character, 'Sapphira' in play and will block John.  John's special ability says 'Prevent all special abilities on evil characters, except banding."  Sapphira's special ability says, "Negate all special abilities on characters and enhancements (except this ability).

So, does John's special ability cancel Sapphira's special ability?  Or does Sapphira's special ability cancel John's special ability?  Or do they both cancel each other out?

Also, I wasn't really sure where to post this (again, no introduction board that I could see), but as someone just getting into this game, which sets or cards should I be looking at first?  Or maybe I should just look for some large lots of cards to try to pick up?  (I'm kind of a harder core game collector, so if this game sticks for my boys and I, then I will probably be want to try for complete sets.)

Offline Ken4Christ4ever

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1763
  • Three Lions Gaming + Goodruby Christian Bookstore
    • -
    • Southwest Region
    • Three Lions Gaming
Re: John vs Sapphira - what happens?
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2020, 11:13:35 PM »
0
Welcome! Start with the starter decks to work out clarification of rules, and then build from there. Depending on your budget, you could do complete sets (I could do most of the older sets for pretty cheap), or you could decide which brigades you like best from the starter decks and expand those brigades.

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3264
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: John vs Sapphira - what happens?
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2020, 11:23:15 PM »
0
Welcome to the boards! There's no real introduction board, but you're in the right place for ruling questions.

John's ability prevents Sapphira's ability, which means Sapphira's ability can't activate to negate John.

Offline Bardoly

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • Midwest Region
Re: John vs Sapphira - what happens?
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2020, 11:45:58 PM »
0
Welcome! Start with the starter decks to work out clarification of rules, and then build from there. Depending on your budget, you could do complete sets (I could do most of the older sets for pretty cheap), or you could decide which brigades you like best from the starter decks and expand those brigades.

That would be great!  I've been looking at lots on eBay and at the couple of stores that I've seen that seem to prioritize selling this game, but there are so many cards for a newcomer to process that I think that I'd kind of like to try the older stuff (In sets if possible, I think) and work my way up to the newer stuff.  This game does look great, though, and I think that my 3 sons will really enjoy it too!  (They already enjoy table gaming a good bit.)
I'll PM you.

Welcome to the boards! There's no real introduction board, ...

That's too bad

...but you're in the right place for ruling questions
John's ability prevents Sapphira's ability, which means Sapphira's ability can't activate to negate John.

Thank you for the answer!  I wasn't seeing an answer in the rulebook.
Just to clarify, is prevent 'stronger' than negate?  I.e. prevent stops something from ever happening in the first place, where negate 'lets it happe,', then nullifies it?  Or is it because John was the attacker, so he was in the battlefield first, and that's why his ability activated first?
« Last Edit: September 12, 2020, 11:53:55 PM by Bardoly »

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3264
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: John vs Sapphira - what happens?
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2020, 11:58:46 PM »
0
...but you're in the right place for ruling questions
John's ability prevents Sapphira's ability, which means Sapphira's ability can't activate to negate John.

Thank you for the answer!  I wasn't seeing an answer in the rulebook.
Just to clarify, is prevent 'stronger' than negate?  I.e. prevent stops something from ever happening in the first place, where negate 'lets it happe,', then nullifies it?  Or is it because John was the attacker, so he was in the battlefield first, and that's why his ability activated first?

The latter. If Sapphira got into battle first, then you managed to bring John in, she'd negate him.

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3264
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: John vs Sapphira - what happens?
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2020, 06:41:44 PM »
0
I didn't answer the question about prevent being stronger than negate in trying to keep things simpler.

Prevent only stops abilities going forward.
Interrupt only suspends abilities that have (or are) happening.
Negate does both.

So negate and prevent do the same thing to abilities that have not already activated, but negate goes backwards as well.