Author Topic: Card abilities that you can only partially complete  (Read 303 times)

Offline pinkfloyd

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 82
    • Southeast Region
Card abilities that you can only partially complete
« on: September 10, 2020, 06:10:48 PM »
0
Fall of Man is a lovely card I don't often get to use, but it came up recently, and I used it as an evil enhancement instead of curse.  It allows one to "convert one male hero and one female hero to brown."  If there are no female heroes on the board, do I still get to convert a male hero?   Also, if there was one female hero in play, but she was mine (in my territory).  Would I have to convert her?   I'd like to mention that I appreciate all of the folks here who answer these questions.  No doubt there have been repeat questions and some that a thorough reading of those little 4th edition pamphlet/rules would answer, but I'm getting old and miss a lot!  So, my thanks to all of you.

Offline Bobbert

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1773
  • The player formerly known as Thomas Hunter
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Card abilities that you can only partially complete
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2020, 06:30:26 PM »
0
In situations like this, it's a "do as much as you can" situation. You still get to do one even if you can't do the other.
That said, the ability isn't optional (it doesn't say "may"). So you do have to convert your own female if she's the only target in play.

One other variation: if it was a condition ("Convert a female here to convert a male hero") then you wouldn't be able to do the latter if you fulfilled the condition of doing the former.
ANB is good. Change my mind.

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3264
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Card abilities that you can only partially complete
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2020, 07:32:10 PM »
+1
One other variation: if it was a condition ("Convert a female here to convert a male hero") then you wouldn't be able to do the latter if you fulfilled the condition of doing the former.

I think Bobbert left out a word here - either "do the latter if you DIDN'T fulfill the condition of doing the former" or "do the latter until you fulfilled the condition of doing the former" (or something similar). Everything else is correct.

Offline Bobbert

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1773
  • The player formerly known as Thomas Hunter
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Card abilities that you can only partially complete
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2020, 01:05:25 AM »
0
Important word I missed there... :doh:
ANB is good. Change my mind.