Author Topic: (1) CBI vs Negate + (2) Interrupt enhancement  (Read 564 times)

Offline matts3376

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • -
    • Southeast Region
(1) CBI vs Negate + (2) Interrupt enhancement
« on: September 08, 2021, 10:10:50 PM »
0
If a hero with a CBI ability enters battle and is blocked by an EC with a "Negate all special abilities on heroes" ability - is the hero's ability negated?

Similarly: if a hero plays a CBI enhancement, and an EC responds with a "Negate the last good enhancement played" - is the CBI enhancement negated?

I haven't been able to find an answer on whether negate, when played AFTER another card's special ability, functions as an interrupt or if it goes a step beyond and nullifies abilities that are CBI AFTER they are played.

If I'm seeing correctly, a negate that is active before a CBP ability is played still negates the CBP ability because it also interrupts it.

Help. lol.

edit: okay, while I'm at it...

I attack with Red hero (12/12)
Blocked by EC (5/5)
EC plays EE with ability "Discard all heroes in battle"
Red hero plays Battle Cry, "Interrupt the battle and band into battle as many heroes from holder's territory..."
Bands 3 more heroes in.

Does the EE discard all of those heroes now brought in or simply the first hero? My guess is all of them because the interrupt has since ended. But if the EE was simply "Underdeck a (single) hero" and the same scenario happened, only the targeted hero would be underdecked and the other three would remain in battle. Is this line of thinking correct? Thank you so much in advance.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2021, 10:20:56 PM by matts3376 »

Offline ArmedKevin117

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 193
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Re: (1) CBI vs Negate + (2) Interrupt enhancement
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2021, 10:58:49 PM »
0
A Negate played before its target is a Prevent.  A card that cannot be Prevented (including cannot be Negated) will function even if a Prevent/Negate is already in play.  It can, however, be Interrupted/Negated after it activates.

A Negate played after its target is an Interrupt and Prevent.  A card that cannot be Interrupted/Negated will function even if a Negate is played after.  However, it can be Prevented/Negated before it activates.

So in your examples with CBI abilities, the answer is no.  CBI abilities need to be Prevented/Negated before they activate, not after.

In your second scenario with the Interrupt and Band, once the Band finishes the EE re-activates.  "All Heroes in battle" now includes the three you Banded in, so they would be discarded too.  However, those Heroes' abilities activate during the Interrupt.  If any of their abilities (or cascade effects such as "play next" followed by a battle-winning enhancement) remove the EE or EC from battle, the EE does not reactivate.  Additionally, if some aspect of those Heroes grants protection from the EE, that protection would apply before the EE re-activates.

Example: One of the Banded Heroes has the Shields GE equipped.  Shields protects its bearer from EE's, so when the EE re-activates, the Hero holding Shields would not be discarded (the rest would, so in this scenario the best move would be to only Band in the Hero with Shields.

Offline matts3376

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • -
    • Southeast Region
Re: (1) CBI vs Negate + (2) Interrupt enhancement
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2021, 05:14:32 PM »
0
Thank you so much man! That really, really helps me understand the mechanics of interrupt.

Offline ArmedKevin117

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 193
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Re: (1) CBI vs Negate + (2) Interrupt enhancement
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2021, 12:15:25 AM »
0
You're welcome; glad to help.

A clarification on the difference between Interrupt and Negate (played as Interrupt).  An Interrupt needs to be paired with an ability that removes the Interrupted card from play (Interrupt and Discard X).
A Negate, however, can be standalone (Negate X) since it's Interrupt and Prevent.  Note that this can even work against cannot be Prevented abilities; it was explained to me as the initial Interrupt also Interrupts the CBP aspect, allowing the Prevent to kick in.  But it's easier just to look at it as "CBP only cares about abilities active before the CBP card is played."