Author Topic: Naaman's card wording - CBP?  (Read 505 times)

Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 2306
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Naaman's card wording - CBP?
« on: September 03, 2016, 11:20:00 AM »
0
The first sentence printed on Naaman's card, "OT Enhancements used by Naaman cannot be negated," is that part of his SA or is it some kind of identifier?  I was playing a game using CoW Moses and was blocked by Naaman, and my opponent and I were wondering if that specific wording can be prevented by Moses, thus any EE played on Naaman could also be prevented by Moses' ability.  We played it as if the wording was part of Naaman's SA, so OT enhancements he played were subsequently prevented (unless he played a CBP or CBN EE).

Side note: when is the wording printed on a character card not part of the character's SA?  I thought I heard or read somewhere that not all of the wording on some character cards is part of the character's SA. 
« Last Edit: September 03, 2016, 12:39:22 PM by Watchman492 »
Need Redemption? Visit Your Turn Games today!

Offline Crashfach2002

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2849
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Naaman's card wording - CBP?
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2016, 11:34:41 AM »
0
So if ANY character says "x enhancements cannot be _____" then that ability is cannot be negated as well.  This is for all and always.

As far as parts of people's abilities now being identifiers, you just need to check the errata section and it will tell you.  I'll try to post the link in a few but I'm currently using my phone.

Offline Kevinthedude

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1816
  • Yo
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Naaman's card wording - CBP?
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2016, 11:47:03 AM »
0
So if ANY character says "x enhancements cannot be _____" then that ability is cannot be negated as well.  This is for all and always.

As far as parts of people's abilities now being identifiers, you just need to check the errata section and it will tell you.  I'll try to post the link in a few but I'm currently using my phone.

Just to add on to this, any ability that makes any ability cannot be cbp/n/i cannot be negated, not just characters. Mostly recently extremely important due to the CBP lost soul working even with a CoW Moses down.

Offline Crashfach2002

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2849
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Naaman's card wording - CBP?
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2016, 11:52:44 AM »
0
So if ANY character says "x enhancements cannot be _____" then that ability is cannot be negated as well.  This is for all and always.

As far as parts of people's abilities now being identifiers, you just need to check the errata section and it will tell you.  I'll try to post the link in a few but I'm currently using my phone.

Just to add on to this, any ability that makes any ability cannot be cbp/n/i cannot be negated, not just characters. Mostly recently extremely important due to the CBP lost soul working even with a CoW Moses down.

Forgot about that LS, stuff like Moses' Rod does this too.

Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 2306
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Re: Naaman's card wording - CBP?
« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2016, 02:44:07 PM »
0
So if ANY character says "x enhancements cannot be _____" then that ability is cannot be negated as well.  This is for all and always.

As far as parts of people's abilities now being identifiers, you just need to check the errata section and it will tell you.  I'll try to post the link in a few but I'm currently using my phone.


Thanks Chris. I searched the REG a bit ago and found the rule under Modifiers / Cannot Be Negated / Default Conditions (first bullet point). 

And here's the link for the Errata.

http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/redemption-official-rules/errata-reworded-special-abilities/
« Last Edit: September 03, 2016, 02:46:30 PM by Watchman492 »
Need Redemption? Visit Your Turn Games today!

Offline JDS

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 602
  • Type 1 Personality
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Naaman's card wording - CBP?
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2020, 02:36:46 PM »
0
I assume enhancements played on Naaman in a territory may still be negated though?

Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 2306
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Re: Naaman's card wording - CBP?
« Reply #6 on: August 28, 2020, 03:40:39 PM »
0
I assume enhancements played on Naaman in a territory may still be negated though?

His ability/CBN modifier only activates in battle, so if you play a card on him while he’s in your territory during your prep or discard phase then his ability doesn’t apply to it.
Need Redemption? Visit Your Turn Games today!