Author Topic: Redeemed unique characters  (Read 347 times)

Offline sepjazzwarrior

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2260
  • The best defense is a fast offense
    • -
    • Midwest Region
Redeemed unique characters
« on: September 07, 2021, 08:53:51 AM »
0
If i have used chariots of fire on my unique prophet, can i put another copy of that prophet in play? 

Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 2436
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Re: Redeemed unique characters
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2021, 10:46:50 AM »
0
Negative, since you control that prophet already. This wouldn’t work anyway in a 50 card type one deck due to the unique character rules not permitting a second copy/version of it in the deck. But if you’re referring to Type 2 it won’t work anyways due to already controlling that prophet.
Redemption is Here! Visit Your Turn Games today!

Offline sepjazzwarrior

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2260
  • The best defense is a fast offense
    • -
    • Midwest Region
Re: Redeemed unique characters
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2021, 11:18:03 AM »
0
Kewl thanks

Offline TheJaylor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3010
  • Fortress Alstad
    • -
    • North Central Region
    • Redemption with Jayden
Re: Redeemed unique characters
« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2021, 04:09:32 PM »
0
Negative, since you control that prophet already. This wouldn’t work anyway in a 50 card type one deck due to the unique character rules not permitting a second copy/version of it in the deck. But if you’re referring to Type 2 it won’t work anyways due to already controlling that prophet.
I don't think this is correct, but I'm not really sure what to point to as proof. I'm pretty sure that rescuing a unique character doesn't prevent you from controlling another copy of that character, but the REG doesn't list the Land of Redemption as a zone where no players control the contents. I know you can control a captured unique character and the same non-captured character, so I don't see why a rescued one would be different though.

Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 2436
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Re: Redeemed unique characters
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2021, 07:20:28 PM »
0
@TheJaylor You’re correct. I found this under the Unique entry in the REG:

Players may only control one of each unique card in their territory, set-aside area, or their side of battle.

The 50 card type 1 deck building rule regarding unique characters, however, still remains as he could not have the same unique prophet in his deck building. The scenario he presented would realistically only be able to be done in a Type 2 deck, unless he rescued the unique prophet then took permanent control of an opponent’s same hero.
Redemption is Here! Visit Your Turn Games today!