Author Topic: Captured Character Identifiers  (Read 240 times)

Offline Kevinthedude

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1834
  • Yo
    • -
    • North Central Region
Captured Character Identifiers
« on: August 01, 2021, 11:33:48 PM »
0
I noticed an interesting section of the REG:
"Captured characters may only be targeted as captured characters, or “captured” versions of their identifiers, brigades or card type prior to being rescued. However, they may be seen or counted by abilities or identifiers that look for their identifiers and/or brigades."

Since captured characters are meek, would having a captured character in your LoB satisfy a requirement such as "if you control a meek character"? I don't know of any current application of this ruling but I can imagine such a phrase appearing on a card someday.

How about situations beyond meekness? For example, does having a captured character who is a priest in your LoB satisfy King Abijam's requirement?

How about brigades? Is Affliction of Job X=7 if an opponent's only card in territory is a captured Foreign Wives?

None of these are things I would have thought to be true but that's what I understand the bolded section of the quote to mean.

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3260
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Captured Character Identifiers
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2021, 03:50:43 AM »
0
All of those are correct, with the caveat that captured Foreign Wives only counts for Job's Affliction in its owner's LoB, due to our definition of "opponent's".

Zerah, the Ethiopian has a condition that needs a "meek card" - I think we'd be more likely to use that than "meek character", but either would work with a captured character in play.

Offline Reth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1124
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
Re: Captured Character Identifiers
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2021, 07:04:43 AM »
0
So if I manage to capture my own characters to my LoB then they would e.g. count also for Obed, the Servant (in case they are Ruth heroes) or Enosh, the Worshipper (in case they are Antediluvian)?

Offline TheJaylor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2990
  • Fortress Alstad
    • -
    • North Central Region
    • Redemption with Jayden
Re: Captured Character Identifiers
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2021, 10:32:59 PM »
0
So if I manage to capture my own characters to my LoB then they would e.g. count also for Obed, the Servant (in case they are Ruth heroes) or Enosh, the Worshipper (in case they are Antediluvian)?
I don't believe they are still considered Heroes, so I don't think so, but I could be wrong on that.

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3260
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Captured Character Identifiers
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2021, 11:12:28 PM »
0
TheJaylor is correct. They wouldn't be Ruth Heroes for Obed (as they're not Heroes for anything else), but captured antediluvians would count for Enosh, since he does not specify "antediluvian Heroes" or "good antediluvians" - just "antediluvians".

Offline Reth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1124
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
Re: Captured Character Identifiers
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2021, 03:37:24 AM »
0
Wow! Incredible! Thanks guys!