Author Topic: How do "exchange" abilities work with regards to changing permenant control  (Read 265 times)

Offline TheIrishman

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 73
  • "The Island" Region #Nats2020
    • -
    • Northeast Region
I was playing a game with a friend earlier and ran into an interesting situation.  I banded to his Philistine Armor Bearer and used it to bring one of my Philistines from deck into battle.  The part that I found interesting and was unsure about how it should play out (hence me asking here) was whose deck does PAB go into.  First of all, I'm assuming I'm able to use my opponent's PAB to get one of my Philistines?  Second, whose deck does PAB go into?

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3260
    • -
    • South Central Region
0
Yes, you can use your opponent's card to exchange to your deck (or discard pile or Reserve).

Cards ALWAYS go to their owner's deck, Reserve or discard pile, even when they would be exchanged (or some other ability) into someone else's.

Offline TheIrishman

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 73
  • "The Island" Region #Nats2020
    • -
    • Northeast Region
0
Yes, you can use your opponent's card to exchange to your deck (or discard pile or Reserve).

Cards ALWAYS go to their owner's deck, Reserve or discard pile, even when they would be exchanged (or some other ability) into someone else's.
That's what we thought.  That would have been a really cool (but probably OP) way to steal a character.  If that band ability is later negated, does the character I exchanged for return to its original location or my territory?  I'm assuming it would go to my territory since the band was negated and not the exchange.

Offline TheJaylor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2990
  • Fortress Alstad
    • -
    • North Central Region
    • Redemption with Jayden
0
Yes, you can use your opponent's card to exchange to your deck (or discard pile or Reserve).

Cards ALWAYS go to their owner's deck, Reserve or discard pile, even when they would be exchanged (or some other ability) into someone else's.
That's what we thought.  That would have been a really cool (but probably OP) way to steal a character.  If that band ability is later negated, does the character I exchanged for return to its original location or my territory?  I'm assuming it would go to my territory since the band was negated and not the exchange.
I think I actually misplayed this in a game the other day, but since players do not control cards in their decks (or Reserve, Discard, and Banish piles) then you do not exchange control in this case, so the character you exchange for would go to your territory if the band is negated or in battle resolution if the character survives. The case when you do exchange permanent control like that is when both the exchanger and exchangee are in play, so you band to your opponent's Joshua, exchange to your David, then after battle or if the band is negated, David goes to your opponent's territory and Joshua stays in yours.

Offline TheIrishman

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 73
  • "The Island" Region #Nats2020
    • -
    • Northeast Region
0
The case when you do exchange permanent control like that is when both the exchanger and exchangee are in play, so you band to your opponent's Joshua, exchange to your David, then after battle or if the band is negated, David goes to your opponent's territory and Joshua stays in yours.
Oh that is indeed an interesting play :D
« Last Edit: February 10, 2021, 10:58:00 PM by TheIrishman »