Author Topic: "Take and play"  (Read 294 times)

Offline Bobbert

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1703
  • The player formerly known as Thomas Hunter
    • -
    • North Central Region
"Take and play"
« on: July 13, 2019, 07:10:16 PM »
0
I know that Take defaults to hand, but does "take and play" go to hand then play, or straight to play?

Relevant situation that raised the question: Player A has Asahel sitting in City of Refuge (fort). Player B attacks with Caleb and "take and play"s City of Refuge, also as a fort. B also has Asahel in territory. What happens to the Asahel in CoR? By my understanding contents follow with the take, but depending on whether "take and play" takes a pit stop in hand Asahel either ends up in A's hand or B's discard.
ANB is good. Change my mind.

Offline Red Dragon Thorn

  • Still the defending National Champion
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5273
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: "Take and play"
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2019, 07:48:48 PM »
0
Aggie will probably correct me on this, but I believe "Take and Play" involves a stop in the hand, meaning Asahel is in player A's hand. If it was "Take to territory" then Asahel would be in player A's discard. (Or potentially still on Refugee as I think B could discard his own Asahel if he wanted)
Covenant with Death. That is all.

Online RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2989
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: "Take and play"
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2019, 08:31:13 PM »
0
RDT is correct on "Take and play" involving a stop in hand.

The hypothetical "take to territory" is wrong, because taking a card doesn't take any cards on it (they just follow), so you don't gain control of Asahel, so there's no violation of the duplicates rule and both Asahel remain in player B's territory. With such an ability, if player B chooses to use the holds identifier to let Asahel out, it would return to player A's territory.

Offline Red Dragon Thorn

  • Still the defending National Champion
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5273
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: "Take and play"
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2019, 09:05:29 PM »
0
RDT is correct on "Take and play" involving a stop in hand.

The hypothetical "take to territory" is wrong, because taking a card doesn't take any cards on it (they just follow), so you don't gain control of Asahel, so there's no violation of the duplicates rule and both Asahel remain in player B's territory. With such an ability, if player B chooses to use the holds identifier to let Asahel out, it would return to player A's territory.

See, I knew I was wrong about something
Covenant with Death. That is all.

Offline Bobbert

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1703
  • The player formerly known as Thomas Hunter
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: "Take and play"
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2019, 09:52:04 PM »
0
I didn't realize that control of placed cards doesn't follow even though the card itself does. Good to know.
ANB is good. Change my mind.

Offline TheJaylor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2778
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: "Take and play"
« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2019, 12:30:07 AM »
0
Quote from: REG
Any cards that follow a card that is taken or given to a hand are returned to their owners' hands, as the following cards were not taken or given and do not have anything taking precedence over the "cards are only in their owner's hand" aspect of face value.
I'm not really sure what the last part of that quote means, but the first part seems to suggest, based on what Aggie said, that Asahel should actually end up in Player A's hand.
Fortress Alstad

Offline SiLeNcEd_MaTrIx

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1109
  • T1-2P 2003 National Champion
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Redemption FL
Re: "Take and play"
« Reply #6 on: July 16, 2019, 06:45:57 PM »
0
How how does Caleb  (FoM) "You may underdeck an evil giant.  Take a city and play it.............."  work exactly?  I get to look at opponent's hand with this ability?
Redemption FL - Redemption Resource, Check it Out!

Offline Kevinthedude

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1803
  • Yo
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: "Take and play"
« Reply #7 on: July 16, 2019, 06:55:40 PM »
+1
How how does Caleb  (FoM) "You may underdeck an evil giant.  Take a city and play it.............."  work exactly?  I get to look at opponent's hand with this ability?

You pick up a City that an opponent has in play, put it in your hand, then immediately play it in your territory.

Offline The Guardian

  • Playtester, Redemption Elder
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 12255
  • The Stars are coming out...
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: "Take and play"
« Reply #8 on: July 16, 2019, 07:23:31 PM »
+1
How how does Caleb  (FoM) "You may underdeck an evil giant.  Take a city and play it.............."  work exactly?  I get to look at opponent's hand with this ability?

You pick up a City that an opponent has in play, put it in your hand, then immediately play it in your territory.

Correct.
Fortress Alstad
Have you checked the REG?
Have you looked it up in ORCID?