Author Topic: Free Dom Search!  (Read 1149 times)

Offline Red Dragon Thorn

  • Covenant Games
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5367
    • -
    • North Central Region
    • Covenant Games
Free Dom Search!
« on: May 10, 2019, 07:51:19 PM »
0
Using this card:

Spoiler (hover to show)

Expect a fix of some kind soon
www.covenantgames.com

Offline kram1138

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 431
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Free Dom Search!
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2019, 08:26:39 PM »
0
I know we always talk about how the old cards are poorly worded, and they definitely are. But even the new cards often have ways of using them that aren't intended. I think using ":" was a big step forward in having more precise and less verbose language, but I think more can be done to expand on the language used in the cards. More symbols like ":" that have intuitive meanings would only be a benefit. It wouldn't be hard to introduce things like ">", "<" for indicating minimums and maximums. Maybe brackets for logical grouping. Or using icons for indicating type or brigade. I'm sure others could come up with more things that might make abilities more precise, more intuitive and less verbose.
postCount.Add(1);

Offline thejambi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 167
  • Programmer & Sound Guy
    • -
    • Midwest Region
    • BurnSoftware
Re: Free Dom Search!
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2019, 06:42:03 AM »
0
What does this currently allow you to do that was not intended? You would still only be able to do that when you rescue and discard that card, right?
-Zach
Titus 1:9

Offline goalieking87

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 498
    • East Central Region
Re: Free Dom Search!
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2019, 09:19:20 AM »
+1
What does this currently allow you to do that was not intended? You would still only be able to do that when you rescue and discard that card, right?

He’s just saying you don’t have to have a green Prophet in there to be released along with the discard. Since it gets released anyway, it’s probably not that big of a deal, but the fortress can function even if you only have one green Prophet (and it doesn’t need to be OT since that only applies to the Prophet being held).

Offline Gabe

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10655
  • From Moses to the prophets, it's all about Him!
    • -
    • North Central Region
    • Land of Redemption
Re: Free Dom Search!
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2019, 10:07:29 AM »
0
I think John jumped the gun on this post. We started discussing this last night. We wrote and tested this ability with the understanding that "contents" required at least 1 "content" in order for the requirement to be met. As we've currently defined contents in the REG I think that's still accurate. If anything we need to adjust the wording of contents if that isn't the case.
Have you visited the Land of Redemption today?

Offline Red Dragon Thorn

  • Covenant Games
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5367
    • -
    • North Central Region
    • Covenant Games
Re: Free Dom Search!
« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2019, 10:53:31 AM »
0
I think John jumped the gun on this post. We started discussing this last night. We wrote and tested this ability with the understanding that "contents" required at least 1 "content" in order for the requirement to be met. As we've currently defined contents in the REG I think that's still accurate. If anything we need to adjust the wording of contents if that isn't the case.

Womp womp.

I thought we were talking about adding it, not that it was already there. Ah well
www.covenantgames.com

Offline kram1138

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 431
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Free Dom Search!
« Reply #6 on: May 11, 2019, 11:29:29 AM »
0
Ah, that was the reasoning. I read it as "release contents and (discard this card to search for Dom)". It makes sense to me now that you couldn't do it, but I still think we could have abilities that are more precise.
postCount.Add(1);

Offline TheJaylor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3078
  • Fortress Alstad
    • -
    • North Central Region
    • Redemption with Jayden
Re: Free Dom Search!
« Reply #7 on: May 11, 2019, 11:39:07 AM »
0
Does that mean Raider's Camp is no longer fun, or is "release all Heroes from here" distinct from "release contents"? Or was RC fixed/errata'd awhile ago and I just didn't hear about it?

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Redemption Elder
  • *****
  • Posts: 3278
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Free Dom Search!
« Reply #8 on: May 11, 2019, 12:26:17 PM »
0
"Release all Heroes from here" is distinct, and "all" of something still works even if there isn't any. But RC was given errata with ORCID.

Offline Reth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1236
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
Re: Free Dom Search!
« Reply #9 on: May 11, 2019, 02:10:57 PM »
0
Maybe I didn't get it - but is the "problem" here that there is in fact no precondition to search for a Dom in deck besides DCing this card? Hasn't this been intended?

If not, shouldn't wording be like in similar cards, e.g. like "you may release contents to discard this card and take" - shouldn't the part before the "to" then be precondition for everything following (here DC that fortress and take a Dom from deck)?

Or did I misunderstand the entire topic?

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Redemption Elder
  • *****
  • Posts: 3278
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Free Dom Search!
« Reply #10 on: May 11, 2019, 03:53:27 PM »
0
For cost-benefit abilities, everything preceding "to" is the cost. So it's "(you may release contents and discard this card) to (take a good Dom from deck)". If you don't do all of the cost, you don't get the benefit.

The issue was confusion between "contents" not existing if there's not a card considered "contents", and 0 cards being a legal number of targets for other abilities. Locations exist even if there are no cards in them, so a hand of 0 cards is still a hand, so it can be shuffled; "all/any number" of cards includes 0 cards; etc.

Offline Reth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1236
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
Re: Free Dom Search!
« Reply #11 on: May 11, 2019, 04:29:17 PM »
0
Ok, if it is combined like that the discard needs to be placed before the to as a part of the costs. But then it will be more difficult to get the SA done that it only works if content > 0 will be released. Or is the card intended to also work without any released content in terms of DC'ing and DOM taking?