Author Topic: Did I make the right call?  (Read 4767 times)

Offline soul seeker

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3009
  • I find your lack of faith disturbing.
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Did I make the right call?
« on: March 06, 2011, 05:03:19 PM »
+1
During T1 Multi:  I made a call with Antiochus and I wonder if I was right, maybe some elders can help.

Antiochus was blocking (w/ another Greek) and used his ability.  The girl (not wanting to burn an enhancemnt) asked if she could discard a green site.  I ruled that she could because that it didn't say "good card of matching brigade," it just says "card of matching brigade."  The way I understand it...sites have brigade colors but they are not "good."

Antiochus IV Epiphanes (RA)

Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Black/Gray • Ability: 11 / 10 • Class: Warrior • Special Ability: If another Greek Evil Character is in play, discard a Hero. Opponent may discard a card of matching brigade from hand or territory instead. Cannot be negated. • Identifiers: Male Human, King (Greece-Syria), Royalty, Fought Earthly Battle • Verse: Josephus (OT) •

For what it's worth, in a later category she pulled the same stunt on me, and ultimately played a new beginning because I couldn't pick it off.
noob with a medal

Offline spicynumber1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 119
  • Resistance is futile.
    • -
    • Southeast Region
Re: Did I make the right call?
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2011, 05:19:54 PM »
-1
I'm pretty sure it doesn't work as the site is neutral brigade and the hero is a good brigade, therefore they are not matching brigade.
We must be the change we want to see.

Offline Red

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 4689
  • It takes time to build the boat.
    • LFG
    • Southeast Region
Re: Did I make the right call?
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2011, 05:21:40 PM »
+5
The site is green. The Hero is green. I say it works per logic.
Ironman 2016 and 2018 Winner.
3rd T1-2P 2018, 3rd T2-2P 2019
I survived the Flood twice.

Offline spicynumber1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 119
  • Resistance is futile.
    • -
    • Southeast Region
Re: Did I make the right call?
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2011, 05:24:24 PM »
0
The site is green. The Hero is green. I say it works per logic.

It really boils down to what matching brigade is defined as.
We must be the change we want to see.

Offline crustpope

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 3843
  • Time for those Reds to SHINE!
    • -
    • Midwest Region
Re: Did I make the right call?
« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2011, 05:42:48 PM »
0
I would say it works.  Matching brigade is matching brigade regardless of alignment.  does this mean they could discard a multi fort to satisfy the requirement?  what about a covenant?  Really like a ruling on this one.
This space for rent

Rawrlolsauce!

  • Guest
Re: Did I make the right call?
« Reply #5 on: March 06, 2011, 05:45:56 PM »
0
Forts don't have brigades.

I don't think it works. If good Gold and evil Gold are different, why isn't good Green and neutral Green?

Offline Korunks

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 2271
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Re: Did I make the right call?
« Reply #6 on: March 06, 2011, 05:48:04 PM »
0
I would also rule it works.  Heroes can only rescue from a single color site that their brigade matches.  Based on the logic that those colors are considered a match I would have ruled the same way for antiochus. 
In AMERICA!!

Offline YourMathTeacher

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 11094
    • -
    • Southeast Region
Re: Did I make the right call?
« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2011, 05:50:04 PM »
+2
It really boils down to what matching brigade is defined as.

Unfortunately, "matching brigade" is not defined, hence the likelihood of inconsistent rulings. The same issue could be brought up with whether the player could discard Covenant with Moses that was activated on the Artifact Pile, rather than discard Moses. I have always understood "brigade" to refer to cards that have an alignment, therefore sites do not have "brigades," per se. Cards that refer to sites always say "single-color site" or "multicolor site," never "single-brigade site" or "multi-brigade site."

Forts don't have brigades.

I agree. The multicolor icon on a fortress only distinguishes good from evil.
My wife is a hottie.

Offline crustpope

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 3843
  • Time for those Reds to SHINE!
    • -
    • Midwest Region
Re: Did I make the right call?
« Reply #8 on: March 06, 2011, 05:55:28 PM »
0
Well that makes sense because every time I rule on a question, it always goes the other way...
This space for rent

Offline CJSports

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1403
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Re: Did I make the right call?
« Reply #9 on: March 06, 2011, 06:24:22 PM »
0
Elder? SS if you got this wrong it's terrible (Sarcasm Meant), your a Nationals Champion. I hope this person wasn't new. ;)
Life is not a promise but eternity is...

Offline ChristianSoldier

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1609
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Did I make the right call?
« Reply #10 on: March 06, 2011, 06:29:57 PM »
0
From the REG entry of Brigade
The Heroes and Evil Characters are subdivided into brigades. The color filling the card’s icon box indicates its brigade.

But from the REG entry of access:
1.  the Hero’s icon box contains a matching brigade color in the icon box of the site
2.  An unoccupied site is placed in battle with the Hero and the icon box on the unoccupied site contains a matching brigade color in the icon box of the occupied site.

The entry for Brigade suggest sites don't have brigades, but the entry for site access it suggests they do have brigades and they are the same as the heroes brigades, but since they always refer to the Brigade Color on sites rather than just brigade they could be considered separate, and that would make the two entries consistent.

But before reading this thread I would have ruled that the site could be discarded, and now I am not sure (not that I'm actually a judge)
If you are reading this signature, thank a physicist.

Offline Red Dragon Thorn

  • Still the defending National Champion
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5321
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Did I make the right call?
« Reply #11 on: March 06, 2011, 06:55:53 PM »
+2
Hey,

I'm trying to remember the last time we brought up sites brigades - I think it was with Asher trying to shuffle Pharaoh's Prison.

I'm going to go ahead and say that you ruled correctly. However I'll have to find that ruling thread and re-read it to see.

I seem to recall that we said exactly what you determined - That sites have 'brigades' they're just not 'good' brigades.

So the question really is "Does Hero Green = Site Green" Based on the rules of site access I think the answer is yes.
Covenant with Death. That is all.

Offline SomeKittens

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 8102
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Re: Did I make the right call?
« Reply #12 on: March 06, 2011, 07:05:02 PM »
0
FWIW, I agreed with him.
Mind not the ignorant fool on the other side of the screen!-BubbleBoy
Code: [Select]
postcount.add(1);

Offline YourMathTeacher

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 11094
    • -
    • Southeast Region
Re: Did I make the right call?
« Reply #13 on: March 06, 2011, 08:52:27 PM »
0
Well that makes sense because every time I rule on a question, it always goes the other way...

LOL. It is more likely that I am wrong, based on past experience....  ;)
My wife is a hottie.

Offline Minister Polarius

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15918
  • Grand Minister of Music and Video Games
    • -
    • East Central Region
    • Macclelland Music
Re: Did I make the right call?
« Reply #14 on: March 06, 2011, 09:15:07 PM »
+2
This came up very recently and it was ruled that you can Discard a Site from hand to satisfy Herod's Temple, so the same logic applies here. You ruled correctly.
I am not talking about T2 unless I am explicitly talking about T2. Also Mayhem is fine now somehow!

Offline crustpope

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 3843
  • Time for those Reds to SHINE!
    • -
    • Midwest Region
Re: Did I make the right call?
« Reply #15 on: March 06, 2011, 10:00:09 PM »
0
Well that makes sense because every time I rule on a question, it always goes the other way...

LOL. It is more likely that I am wrong, based on past experience....  ;)

Holy cow!  Its a red letter day in the Archibald House!  I am right for once...If only my wife was on the message boards to see this!
This space for rent

Online Gabe

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10570
  • From Moses to the prophets, it's all about Him!
    • -
    • North Central Region
    • Land of Redemption
Re: Did I make the right call?
« Reply #16 on: March 06, 2011, 10:48:53 PM »
0
+1 to those that said it works.  They are correct.
Have you visited the Land of Redemption today?

Offline christiangamer25

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 960
  • In brightest day, in blackest night...
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Re: Did I make the right call?
« Reply #17 on: March 06, 2011, 11:13:24 PM »
0
ok i just wanna be clear so via this ruling were allowing a site of matching brigade to be a legitamate d/c for entrapping pharisee?
No evil shall escape my sight, Let those who worship evil beware my power, Green Lantern's light

Offline Lamborghini_diablo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9204
  • 16d7h45m30s - It finally happened.
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Did I make the right call?
« Reply #18 on: March 06, 2011, 11:29:00 PM »
0
Now, if sites can be targeted by brigade... I realize they are neutral cards, but do they have "good brigades"?

*edit*

My line of thought for this:

If you can target a site as a matching brigade of a hero... Heroes have good brigades. So, is that matching brigade a good brigade?
« Last Edit: March 06, 2011, 11:48:29 PM by Lamborghini_diablo »

The Schaef

  • Guest
Re: Did I make the right call?
« Reply #19 on: March 07, 2011, 12:39:08 AM »
0
No.  A "good brigade" is a "brigade" on a "good card".  A green Site is of a green brigade, but its alignment is neutral.

Offline Prof Underwood

  • Redemption Elder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8585
    • East Central Region
Re: Did I make the right call?
« Reply #20 on: March 07, 2011, 09:01:30 AM »
0
No.  A "good brigade" is a "brigade" on a "good card".  A green Site is of a green brigade, but its alignment is neutral.
+1

Offline RTSmaniac

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 4289
    • LFG
    • Southeast Region
    • ROOT Online
Re: Did I make the right call?
« Reply #21 on: March 07, 2011, 09:09:43 AM »
0
+1 to all who said it works via Herods Temple ruling.
This is the way Lackey gave it to me. All hail the power of Lackey!

Offline Professoralstad

  • Tournament Host, Redemption Elder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10842
  • Everything is Awesome!
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Did I make the right call?
« Reply #22 on: March 07, 2011, 11:58:30 AM »
0
This came up very recently and it was ruled that you can Discard a Site from hand to satisfy Herod's Temple, so the same logic applies here. You ruled correctly.

I remember that thread (I think I started it). For some reason, I think someone disagreed with me (saying it doesn't work) but since the prevailing opinion here is that it does work based on that thread, I must be misremembering. Which is good, because I agree that sites should work for matching brigades, based on how site access is defined.
Press 1 for more options.

Offline Korunks

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 2271
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Re: Did I make the right call?
« Reply #23 on: March 07, 2011, 02:53:11 PM »
0
Yay for consistency.   8)
In AMERICA!!

Offline redemptioncousin

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 543
  • God made that... :)
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Re: Did I make the right call?
« Reply #24 on: March 07, 2011, 03:19:03 PM »
0
Can you discard a gold site to satisfy Herod's Temple when a evil gold Herod is being targeted??? There are many that are claiming the site is "neutral gold."
Gates of Hell is by far the best card in the game.  No questions asked.