Author Topic: Impartial Judgment and SI  (Read 550 times)

Offline TheIrishman

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 73
  • "The Island" Region #Nats2020
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Impartial Judgment and SI
« on: January 17, 2021, 05:56:37 PM »
0
Suppose I am rescuing and play Impartial Judgement when X=1 and my opponent has 1 evil character in battle and 1 evil card in hand: if my opponent chooses to target his only character in battle with the discard ability, does he then get SI to stop IJ?  I emphasize "chooses" because I want to know if the fact that my opponent is choosing to target his only character in battle (even though he can choose the evil card in his hand instead) has any influence on whether or not he is given SI.
Spoiler (hover to show)

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3262
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Impartial Judgment and SI
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2021, 07:00:47 PM »
0
They'd still get SI. Who chooses the targets doesn't make a difference - it only matters that an opponent controls the card that has the ability.

Offline TheJaylor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2999
  • Fortress Alstad
    • -
    • North Central Region
    • Redemption with Jayden
Re: Impartial Judgment and SI
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2021, 02:14:11 PM »
0
It's also important to note that if X=2 and your opponent has 1 EC in battle and 1 evil card in their hand, they get SI before the card in their hand is discarded, so if the card in hand can negate IJ, then they are still able to play it.

Offline Sean

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3905
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Impartial Judgment and SI
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2021, 08:28:39 PM »
0
It's also important to note that if X=2 and your opponent has 1 EC in battle and 1 evil card in their hand, they get SI before the card in their hand is discarded, so if the card in hand can negate IJ, then they are still able to play it.
I do not understand this.  How would they use a card that is in the discard pile?
May you prosper greatly!
Daniel 4:1b

Offline Crashfach2002

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2961
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Impartial Judgment and SI
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2021, 11:13:41 PM »
+1
It's also important to note that if X=2 and your opponent has 1 EC in battle and 1 evil card in their hand, they get SI before the card in their hand is discarded, so if the card in hand can negate IJ, then they are still able to play it.
I do not understand this.  How would they use a card that is in the discard pile?

So if you choose the last evil character in battle (voluntarily or not) then it give you special initiative.  Special initiative (SI) suspends the ability of the card causing SI.  So currently Impartial Judgment is suspending allowing you a chance to negate it.  Therefore the card(s) chosen to be in the discard pile haven't gone there yet until you have a chance to respond.  This allows you to be able to play an enhancement from hand that might (or have) to be targeted. 

Offline TheJaylor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2999
  • Fortress Alstad
    • -
    • North Central Region
    • Redemption with Jayden
Re: Impartial Judgment and SI
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2021, 11:15:16 PM »
0
It's also important to note that if X=2 and your opponent has 1 EC in battle and 1 evil card in their hand, they get SI before the card in their hand is discarded, so if the card in hand can negate IJ, then they are still able to play it.
I do not understand this.  How would they use a card that is in the discard pile?

So if you choose the last evil character in battle (voluntarily or not) then it give you special initiative.  Special initiative (SI) suspends the ability of the card causing SI.  So currently Impartial Judgment is suspending allowing you a chance to negate it.  Therefore the card(s) chosen to be in the discard pile haven't gone there yet until you have a chance to respond.  This allows you to be able to play an enhancement from hand that might (or have) to be targeted. 
Which is why the best time to play Impartial Judgment is pre-block. ;)

Offline Crashfach2002

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2961
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Impartial Judgment and SI
« Reply #6 on: January 19, 2021, 10:21:11 AM »
+1
It's also important to note that if X=2 and your opponent has 1 EC in battle and 1 evil card in their hand, they get SI before the card in their hand is discarded, so if the card in hand can negate IJ, then they are still able to play it.
I do not understand this.  How would they use a card that is in the discard pile?

So if you choose the last evil character in battle (voluntarily or not) then it give you special initiative.  Special initiative (SI) suspends the ability of the card causing SI.  So currently Impartial Judgment is suspending allowing you a chance to negate it.  Therefore the card(s) chosen to be in the discard pile haven't gone there yet until you have a chance to respond.  This allows you to be able to play an enhancement from hand that might (or have) to be targeted. 
Which is why the best time to play Impartial Judgment is pre-block. ;)

I can say first hand, it is not!  :P

Offline Sean

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3905
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Impartial Judgment and SI
« Reply #7 on: January 20, 2021, 07:07:47 AM »
0
Does the order in which cards from hand or battle matter?  Like, if the blocking player discards from hand before they choose to discard from battle, would they still be able to use a card targeted for discard to negate Impartial Judgement?

Does regular initiative suspend play as well?  Wondering if a card such as Deeping Lie or Grievous Departure (that stands to discard a cards from hand but also has high numbers so initiative probably passes as well) would cause the same interaction or if the discarded card would not be able to negate because it is not special initiative?
May you prosper greatly!
Daniel 4:1b

Offline chazmaniandevil

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • The Island Region #Nats2020
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Re: Impartial Judgment and SI
« Reply #8 on: January 20, 2021, 09:39:38 AM »
0
I would think that if cards from hand and battle are being targeted, it would be targeted all at once. Cards from hand cannot be first discarded, then character(s) discarded. And when all cards are targeted for discard, if it results in blocker special initiative the blocker(s) would indeed have a chance to respond before they, along with cards in hand, are discarded.

Offline Crashfach2002

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2961
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Impartial Judgment and SI
« Reply #9 on: January 20, 2021, 09:48:22 AM »
0
Does the order in which cards from hand or battle matter?  Like, if the blocking player discards from hand before they choose to discard from battle, would they still be able to use a card targeted for discard to negate Impartial Judgement?

Does regular initiative suspend play as well?  Wondering if a card such as Deeping Lie or Grievous Departure (that stands to discard a cards from hand but also has high numbers so initiative probably passes as well) would cause the same interaction or if the discarded card would not be able to negate because it is not special initiative?

So all of the cards are targeted at the same time, so as long as your last evil character is targeted by the ability this works.  If this doesn't cause SI then you would not be able to play a card from hand that is targeted to be discarded.  Likewise your other examples would not allow you to play a card that is targeted for discard as they aren't putting you in SI, so the ability completes before regular initiative would pass.

Offline Sean

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3905
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Impartial Judgment and SI
« Reply #10 on: January 20, 2021, 10:32:53 AM »
0
ok cool.  Thank you!
May you prosper greatly!
Daniel 4:1b