Author Topic: Rule Changes in REG 6.0  (Read 829 times)

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3004
    • -
    • South Central Region
Rule Changes in REG 6.0
« on: May 10, 2019, 03:00:59 PM »
Many of the updates to REG 6.0.0 are primarily codifying standing rulings, so this thread is to highlight the handful of actual changes. All of these are effective going forward.

Activate an Artifact
Activate an Artifact abilities no longer default to activating on the Artifact pile. The default is now any legal location for that Artifact controlled by the player.

Choose Opponent
As announced back in December, choose the opponent abilities have had their default targets limited to the opposing player's territory.

Deck Building Rules (Duplicate Cards)

Quote from: REG 6.0>Deck Building Rules>T1>Other Rules
  • Cards with special abilities that have the same name and same card art are limited to a maximum of 1 each per 50 cards in a deck.
  • Cards (except generic characters and Lost Souls) with special abilities that have the same name and same card icon are limited to a maximum of 1 each per 50 cards in a deck.
  • Cards (except generic characters) with special abilities that are listed as duplicate cards and have the same card icon are limited to a maximum of 1 each per 50 cards in a deck.
  • Generic characters with special abilities that have the same name and card art are limited to a maximum of 1 each per 50 cards in a deck. If the card art is different, you may select a maximum of 1 each per 50 cards in a deck from each variant.


The red text in the second bullet used to be "brigade". Not every card has a brigade, but every card has an icon (except Lost Souls, in which case "no icon" is their icon).

The 3rd bullet is not a new rule, as the duplicate cards were previously considered to have the same name. However, the final definition of "Name (a Card/Card Type)" notably excludes them, requiring the new bullet. The bolded section below is considered when determining if cards have the same name for deck building.

Quote from: REG 6.0>Glossary>Name (a Card/Card Type)
Name (a Card/Card Type)

When a special ability directs a player to name a card, they can name any card that exists in the game, except a Lost Soul. The named card is only named for the special ability of that card, and the ability or modifier that targets the named card targets all versions with the same name.

Cards are considered to have the same name if adding, removing, or exchanging articles (a, an, the), prepositions (with, of, etc.) and punctuation (commas, apostrophes, etc.) results in the names being identical. Cards are not considered to have the same name if they have other differences, like many of those that appear on the duplicate cards list. If a player is unsure of the exact name of a version of a card on the duplicate cards list, they can describe other attributes of their desired target.

Offline pinkfloyd

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • Southeast Region
Re: Rule Changes in REG 6.0
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2019, 07:16:07 AM »
Does this mean I CAN have a Tabernacle, a Solomon's Temple, A Heavenly Temple, Zerubbabel's Temple and Herod's Temple, all in one legal deck?

Offline Ironisaac

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1648
  • KANYE CARES
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Rule Changes in REG 6.0
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2019, 09:01:56 AM »
Does this mean I CAN have a Tabernacle, a Solomon's Temple, A Heavenly Temple, Zerubbabel's Temple and Herod's Temple, all in one legal deck?

you can, although you can only have one in play at a time.
Some call me "Goofus"

Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 2125
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Re: Rule Changes in REG 6.0
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2019, 10:10:57 AM »
I believe you can have Heavenly Temple in play at the same time as one of those others.
Need Redemption? Visit Your Turn Games today!

Offline Xonathan

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1276
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
Re: Rule Changes in REG 6.0
« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2019, 11:58:09 AM »
Does this mean you can only activate one artifact per turn regardless of location?
Look to the Lord and his strength; seek his face always.
1 Chronicles 16:11

Offline Gabe

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10419
  • From Moses to the prophets, it's all about Him!
    • -
    • North Central Region
    • Land of Redemption
Re: Rule Changes in REG 6.0
« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2019, 12:07:47 PM »
Does this mean you can only activate one artifact per turn regardless of location?

I don’t think so. What made you ask?
Have you visited the Land of Redemption today?

Offline Bobbert

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1719
  • The player formerly known as Thomas Hunter
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Rule Changes in REG 6.0
« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2019, 12:10:55 PM »
Does this mean you can only activate one artifact per turn regardless of location?

No. What that change means is that using a special ability that activates an artifact can target places other than artifact pile (i.e. using Delivered to activate a Temple artifact in your Temple).

The once-per-turn is only for the main art pile, and only the activation by game rule, not ones by special ability.
ANB is good. Change my mind.

Offline Xonathan

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1276
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
Re: Rule Changes in REG 6.0
« Reply #7 on: December 03, 2019, 12:57:09 PM »
I just thought tying all the locations in the activate ability might limit the amount of activation like the main pile but I see that isn’t true. Thanks guys.
Look to the Lord and his strength; seek his face always.
1 Chronicles 16:11

Offline thecoolguy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 294
  • Pagan sailors is the best
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Rule Changes in REG 6.0
« Reply #8 on: December 03, 2019, 03:52:51 PM »
So does that mean that we can't play the same enhancement twice?
If I speak with human eloquence and angelic ecstasy but don't love I am nothing.

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3004
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Rule Changes in REG 6.0
« Reply #9 on: December 03, 2019, 04:29:55 PM »
So does that mean that we can't play the same enhancement twice?


The only thing in the OP that might pertain to Enhancements is about deckbuilding rules, not gameplay rules. All Enhancements are generic, so you can play multiples if you have multiples.