Author Topic: Couple Different Questions  (Read 730 times)

Offline fyero

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 483
  • Who can pluck us from our Father's hand?
Couple Different Questions
« on: June 13, 2018, 12:06:39 PM »
0
1) Can you play both Confusions in a Type 1 deck since they have different art, different ability and one of them has a different brigade? This has probably been answered before but I searched for it and couldn’t find anything.
2) Can you discard a curse or covenant if it is in your artifact pile to Uzzah since they act like artifacts? “Discard Uzzah and an artifact from hand or artifact pile”
3) if you force two heroes or evil character to fight one another, can your opponent respond if you try to target their hero in battle since you’d be removing him from the current battle?
4) Rescuers Choice is still only for Type 2 right?
5) Can you target the dual cards as either thing when searching for them?
6) To take a card means to gain control of it, right? So if the card says take something and doesn’t specify where, it would mean I can take any card in play to my hand and gain control of it? And if it says take something from deck, that would simply be the keyworded ability of search your deck for said card and add to hand?

Haha sorry, old player looking to catch up on things.
Life is a day that doesn't last for long.

Offline Josh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3186
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Couple Different Questions
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2018, 12:28:31 PM »
0
1.  Pretty sure enhancements were ruled to be unique, meaning same name = same card for T1 purposes.  (You can't have both Gib Tricks in the same deck, for example)

2. Yes.  You can even discard them from hand to Uzzah.

3. I believe no.  The hero will go back to the main battle after the battle challenge, and never actually leaves the field of battle.

4. Yes.  But the Liners are banned now.  So don't play Liners in your OH States deck Nic  ;)

5. Yes.  But be careful, if the ability searching for the Dual-Alignment card puts it in play as one type, you have to put it in play as that type.  Example:  Eternal Covenant putting Joab in play - Joab can't be a Brown EC, he has to go to play as a Red hero.

6. Can you give an example of a card that says "Take" but doesn't specify the area of where to take it from?  And yes, Take is the new Search.
If creation sings Your praises so will I
If You gave Your life to love them so will I

Offline Jeremystair

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 941
    • LFG
    • Southeast Region
Re: Couple Different Questions
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2018, 12:47:57 PM »
0
I believe that number 3 create special initiative doesn't it? Which then gives your opponent the ability to negate the card that is creating the side battle right?

Offline The Guardian

  • Playtester, Redemption Elder
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 12266
  • The Stars are coming out...
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Couple Different Questions
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2018, 12:49:05 PM »
0
No. Because the character is moved to a side battle, they are still "in battle" and thus do not meet the trigger for SI.
Fortress Alstad
Have you checked the REG?
Have you looked it up in ORCID?

Offline fyero

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 483
  • Who can pluck us from our Father's hand?
Re: Couple Different Questions
« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2018, 01:00:50 PM »
0
1.  Pretty sure enhancements were ruled to be unique, meaning same name = same card for T1 purposes.  (You can't have both Gib Tricks in the same deck, for example)

2. Yes.  You can even discard them from hand to Uzzah.

3. I believe no.  The hero will go back to the main battle after the battle challenge, and never actually leaves the field of battle.

4. Yes.  But the Liners are banned now.  So don't play Liners in your OH States deck Nic  ;)

5. Yes.  But be careful, if the ability searching for the Dual-Alignment card puts it in play as one type, you have to put it in play as that type.  Example:  Eternal Covenant putting Joab in play - Joab can't be a Brown EC, he has to go to play as a Red hero.

6. Can you give an example of a card that says "Take" but doesn't specify the area of where to take it from?  And yes, Take is the new Search.

Thanks Josh! The 2-liner makes me so sad as that has been my only defense for the past six years haha. So for the take question, captive priests says he can take an idol, so this would mean any idol that is currently activated right? I would just assume any card that says take from deck automatically means take from your own deck unless it specifically states take from opponents deck?
Life is a day that doesn't last for long.

Offline Josh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3186
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Couple Different Questions
« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2018, 01:04:30 PM »
0
So for Captive Priest, abilities default to play, so he would take an idol in play.  Not that you'd want to do it, but I'm thinking you can't "take" your own active idol.

"Take from deck" means "Take from your deck".  Just like "Search deck" means "Search your deck", "Discard the bottom card of deck" means "Discard the bottom card of your deck", "Each upkeep" means "Each of your upkeeps", etc. 

Basically, if it doesn't actually specify your opponent, it almost always defaults to just yourself.
« Last Edit: June 13, 2018, 01:06:38 PM by Josh »
If creation sings Your praises so will I
If You gave Your life to love them so will I

Offline Bobbert

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1721
  • The player formerly known as Thomas Hunter
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Couple Different Questions
« Reply #6 on: June 13, 2018, 01:07:21 PM »
0
Another thing to note with 5 is that some dual cards specifically come into play as one side, and these cards can only be searched for by what they start as. For example, Nebuchadnezzar can't search for Babylon/Harlot or Magicians Staves/Shakes because by default they are a site and an artifact, respectively.
ANB is good. Change my mind.

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3006
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Couple Different Questions
« Reply #7 on: June 13, 2018, 01:32:55 PM »
0
Take targets cards you don't control, so you can't take your idol.

For playing purposes, you don't control the cards in your deck, you just own them.

Offline Jeremystair

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 941
    • LFG
    • Southeast Region
Re: Couple Different Questions
« Reply #8 on: June 13, 2018, 01:37:59 PM »
0
No. Because the character is moved to a side battle, they are still "in battle" and thus do not meet the trigger for SI.

This is from the REG and I did not capitalize anything that wasn't capitalized in the REG.

Battle 

The phrase "in battle" or “current battle” refers to any cards in the current battle that can be either the primary battle (rescue attempt or battle challenge) or it can refer to a side battle, NOT BOTH.

Special Initiative 

When a player is controlling character(s) in battle and a completing effect of an opponent’s ability, or a game rule that has been triggered by an effect of an opponent’s ability, would leave that player with no character in battle when the effect has completed, they have Special Initiative.

Offline The Guardian

  • Playtester, Redemption Elder
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 12266
  • The Stars are coming out...
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Couple Different Questions
« Reply #9 on: June 13, 2018, 01:49:05 PM »
0
When the side battle effect has completed, "in battle" now refers to the side battle. While "in battle" cannot refer to both battles at the same time, it does switch from one (main battle) to the other (side battle) during the course of the battle phase.
Fortress Alstad
Have you checked the REG?
Have you looked it up in ORCID?