Author Topic: Territorial Class Characters (MOD: ANNOUNCED DEFINITION OF TC CHARACTER INSIDE)  (Read 552 times)

Offline Lampy 2.0

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 655
  • Best pony.
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • My Twitter Account
This question has probably been asked a ton already, but...

If a territorial class character enters play, does his special ability go off while he's in the territory as well as in battle?
« Last Edit: November 03, 2014, 04:42:48 PM by Redoubter »
"You obviously don't comprehend the level of insane I operate at." - The Doctor

Offline Praeceps

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 888
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
Re: Territorial Class Characters
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2014, 09:48:35 AM »
When a TC Character is put in play his/her ability activates. It will continue to activate each turn it remains in play, and in the case of ongoing abilities will remain active until he/she is taken out of play or put into battle where upon they follow normal character rules. If they win the battle and return to territory they will activate again on the next turn.
Just one more thing...

Offline Redoubter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4911
    • -
    • Northeast Region
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2014, 04:33:52 PM »
There was fine-tuning of the definition going on to make sure that there were no issues, but Rob has now given the following definition (which is being added to The Rulings Board Megapost):

Quote from: CactusRob
Territory Class characters have abilities that activate when placed in battle in the same way as all other characters.  The abilities also activate each time the character is placed in a territory.  Territory Class character abilities that are active outside of battle are active while the character remains in the territory.  This also means that their ability ends when they leave battle or territory.

Hopefully that adds some clarity to the use of TC characters, and when their abilities are active and are considered to be activated.
« Last Edit: November 03, 2014, 04:43:11 PM by Redoubter »

Offline JDS

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 602
  • Type 1 Personality
    • -
    • East Central Region
If a character like Moses is discarded by Christian Martyr (or otherwise removed from play) in the preparation phase, will his territory class ability remain active until the subsequent battle phase?

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3202
    • -
    • South Central Region
No. TC characters are treated normally in battle, but they have to be in territory to be active outside of battle.