Author Topic: Sychar  (Read 273 times)

Offline Sean

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3960
    • -
    • East Central Region
Sychar
« on: January 13, 2023, 02:04:08 PM »
0
Does it matter if Sychar is played as a Site or a Fortress in order to hold SWJ?

If I discard or reserve SWJ from Sychar, can I activate another copy of SWJ on Sychar in the same prep phase?

Since Fortresses are unique and Sites are not, can I have two copies of Sychar with one as a Site and one as a Fortress at the same time?

Sychar
Holds Samaritan Water Jar
SITE: If you play this Site, you may take a Samaritan from deck or Reserve.
FORT: If one or more cards you do not own are reserved, you may draw 1.

Samaritan Water Jar
You may discard this card (or reserve it if you control a Samaritan) to reserve the top 3 cards of a deck. If your Samaritan is blocked, you may draw 1.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2023, 02:09:27 PM by Sean »
May you prosper greatly!
Daniel 4:1b

Offline TheJaylor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3086
  • Fortress Alstad
    • -
    • North Central Region
    • Redemption with Jayden
Re: Sychar
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2023, 06:52:29 PM »
0
Does it matter if Sychar is played as a Site or a Fortress in order to hold SWJ?
Nope. The identifier applies to both and there are no rules preventing Sites or Fortresses from holding Artifacts by default.

If I discard or reserve SWJ from Sychar, can I activate another copy of SWJ on Sychar in the same prep phase?
You cannot. You are limited to activating and/or deactivating only one copy of a given Artifact each turn. So you cannot use SWJ in Sychar and activate another one on Sychar, your Artifact pile, or even from your Deck with Delivered. Additionally, if you had Sychar active from last turn still and you choose to deactivate it, you cannot activate another copy later either by game rule or by ability (like Delivered).

Since Fortresses are unique and Sites are not, can I have two copies of Sychar with one as a Site and one as a Fortress at the same time?
That is correct. You could have both in play as Sites or one as a Site and one as a Fortress, assuming you're playing Type 2 so that you can have two in your deck. If you take two copies of Sychar from your opponent you could even have 3 in play as Sites and one as a Fortress.

Offline Sean

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3960
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Sychar
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2023, 07:36:04 PM »
0
I was not aware that the uniqueness of Artifacts prevents you from activating more than one if they are not actually active at the same time. There goes my plan to reserve 9 cards per turn...
May you prosper greatly!
Daniel 4:1b