Author Topic: SI and multiple effect activation  (Read 171 times)

Offline TheIrishman

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • -
    • Northeast Region
SI and multiple effect activation
« on: May 19, 2020, 06:07:04 PM »
If the SA of a card has an effect (say an underdeck effect) that removes my opponent’s lone character from battle AND another effect that brings a card into battle on my side (say a band or equip effect), (1) does the second effect on the card get to activate before my opponent gets SI and if so (2) does the SA of the card added to battle then get to activate as well before my opponent gets SI?

For example, I block my opponent's lone hero with The Rabshakeh (LoC) who says, "If blocking, underdeck a good card. Opponent may reveal hand instead.  You may equip an evil weapon from Reserve or take a pale green enhancment from Reserve.  CBP"  Suppose my opponent must negate The Rabshakeh because his hand is protected and suppose I wish to equip Hired Sword (LoC) from my Reserve.

Hired Sword (LoC): "Negate an opponent's card.  Opponent may discard the negated card.  If they do, discard this card after battle.  If they do not, you may draw 1."

Offline TheJaylor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2900
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: SI and multiple effect activation
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2020, 08:32:36 PM »
As soon as SI is caused, the ability that caused it is basically paused until it resolves. So in your example, if you underdeck opponent's lone hero in battle with The Rabshekah, SI is triggered. They can pass on SI, in which case they then have the option to reveal their hand if it wasn't protected. After they either pass on both of those and are underdecked or do either, you can then equip the weapon provided the whole ability wasn't negated and The Rabshekah is still in battle.
Fortress Alstad