Author Topic: Covenant with Phineas  (Read 370 times)

Offline BeaverQB

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • Midwest Region
Covenant with Phineas
« on: January 15, 2021, 08:52:09 AM »
0
Had Covenant with Phineas (Teal enhancement/artifact: "Protect your Priests from the House of Eleazar from discard abilities on evil cards") active as my artifact when attacking with a Teal priest that was from the House of Eleazar.

Opponent played Christian Martyr (evil dominant: "Discard a Hero") to discard my Priest.

I tried to say that my artifact prevented my priest from being discarded, because Christian Martyr was an evil card.

Opponent said dominants aren't affected by my artifact.

I conceded, but still think I was right.  Can anyone help?
« Last Edit: January 15, 2021, 09:08:27 AM by BeaverQB »

Offline Red Dragon Thorn

  • Top Cut Savvy
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5350
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Covenant with Phineas
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2021, 09:41:34 AM »
0
You're correct.
Top Cut Savvy. Returning 2021.

Offline BeaverQB

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • Midwest Region
Re: Covenant with Phineas
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2021, 05:16:25 PM »
0
Thank you!

Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 2414
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Re: Covenant with Phineas
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2021, 06:45:43 PM »
0
A little note on this, when you say CwP "prevented" your priest from discarded isn't quite accurate.  It protects him from being discarded.  I only say this because prevent is an actual ability, and dominants cannot be prevented/interrupted/negated.
Redemption is Here! Visit Your Turn Games today!