Author Topic: Can Noah (CoW) exchange a LS in own territory for 2 Flood Survivors?  (Read 214 times)

Offline Reth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 996
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
Hi there,

topic tries to express it all: Can I use Noahs (CoW) ability to exchange a LS in my territory for 2 Flood Survivors in my deck or even in my DC pile?

When checking the REG entry regarding targetting it states:
"Lost Souls in play can only be targeted by an instant effect if it is specifically stated to target Lost Souls, or if it targets all cards in a location that contains Lost Souls."

For me it reads like Noahs ability fulfils it all: It targets all cars in one location: Territory.

So would this be a legal play using his SA to exchange LSs for Flood Survivors? If so this would mean Noah can put own LSs in discard pile! - If not what is the reason Noah cannot target own Lost Souls?

Thank you for a short clarification?

Offline The Schaefer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 506
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Can Noah (CoW) exchange a LS in own territory for 2 Flood Survivors?
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2020, 07:29:56 PM »
0
Noah's ability doesn't specifically name lost souls as a target so no it doesn't work per the REG entry you posted.

Lost souls are in Land of Bondage

Offline Reth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 996
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
Re: Can Noah (CoW) exchange a LS in own territory for 2 Flood Survivors?
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2020, 07:50:59 PM »
0
Noah's ability doesn't specifically name lost souls as a target so no it doesn't work per the REG entry you posted.

Lost souls are in Land of Bondage

Thanks Jo, but what is with the "or"-part of this entry "all cards in a location that contains Lost Souls" since territory contains Lost Souls and Noah targets all cards in territory?

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3187
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Can Noah (CoW) exchange a LS in own territory for 2 Flood Survivors?
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2020, 07:51:19 PM »
+2
Noah targets "a card" in territory, not "all cards" in territory. ANB is a card that targets "all cards" in a location.

Offline Reth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 996
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
Re: Can Noah (CoW) exchange a LS in own territory for 2 Flood Survivors?
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2020, 07:58:06 PM »
0
Thanks! Quite tricky to understand (at least for me).

Offline The Schaefer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 506
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Can Noah (CoW) exchange a LS in own territory for 2 Flood Survivors?
« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2020, 08:12:04 PM »
0
Noah's ability doesn't specifically name lost souls as a target so no it doesn't work per the REG entry you posted.

Lost souls are in Land of Bondage

Thanks Jo, but what is with the "or"-part of this entry "all cards in a location that contains Lost Souls" since territory contains Lost Souls and Noah targets all cards in territory?

Yeah sorry. Land of Bondage part really doesn't apply. Not sure why I posted that part. Just glad we have RedemptionAggie to clear up any ruling questions.

Offline JDS

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 602
  • Type 1 Personality
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Can Noah (CoW) exchange a LS in own territory for 2 Flood Survivors?
« Reply #6 on: August 26, 2020, 07:57:10 AM »
0
What about a captured character? Noah, the Righteous also states "You may shuffle a card (except a human)." I assume the ability cannot target a Lost Soul, just like with CoW Noah, but I am unsure if the exception extends to a captured character. From the REG entry for capture-

How to Play
● A capture effect transforms a character into a captured character and moves it to a different location where it is
held captive. Heroes become captured Heroes and Evil Characters become captured Evil Characters.
● Permanent control of captured characters transfers to the player that receives the captured characters.
● When a character is captured, all cards equipped to or placed on that character are discarded.
● A capture effect targets the characters that are to be captured.
● Unless otherwise specified, targets must be in play.
● Unless otherwise specified, targets are moved to the Land of Bondage of the player that carried out the capture
effect.
● All capture effects are instant.
Clarifications
● The phrase “treat as a Lost Soul” is a clarification of the game rule that applies to captured characters that are in
a Land of Bondage, not an ability.
● The phrase “take prisoner” means “capture”.

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3187
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Can Noah (CoW) exchange a LS in own territory for 2 Flood Survivors?
« Reply #7 on: August 26, 2020, 12:43:39 PM »
+1
There's an entry in the REG glossary for "captured character" that says they are only target able as "captured X", where X is any of their applicable attributes (usually human, Hero, or EC), or as LS (if applicable). That entry also says captured characters retain their identifiers, so a captured human is still human and would be excluded from the shuffle.

So no, neither Noah can target a captured character for the exchange/shuffle.