Author Topic: Can a withdrawn character be negated once in territory?  (Read 452 times)

Offline TheIrishman

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 73
  • "The Island" Region #Nats2020
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Can a withdrawn character be negated once in territory?
« on: October 30, 2020, 12:58:37 PM »
0
Suppose my opponent makes an RA with David Outcast banded to Josiah the Restorer with Shields equipped.  I block with Goliath to withdraw Josiah.  If I then play Bringing Fear, will that negate Josiah and Shields?

Spoiler (hover to show)

Offline TheJaylor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2990
  • Fortress Alstad
    • -
    • North Central Region
    • Redemption with Jayden
Re: Can a withdrawn character be negated once in territory?
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2020, 01:44:01 PM »
0
Yep. The default targets for Bringing Fear are all Characters and good Enhancements in play, so as long as you're still in the battle phase, Josiah and Shields can be negated as long as they're in play.

Offline TheIrishman

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 73
  • "The Island" Region #Nats2020
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Re: Can a withdrawn character be negated once in territory?
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2020, 02:10:33 PM »
0
Follow up question: suppose I withdraw but do NOT negate Joab.  Would he still be able to use his discard ability?

Spoiler (hover to show)

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3260
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Can a withdrawn character be negated once in territory?
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2020, 07:17:54 PM »
0
Yes. An optional "after battle" ability will work as long as the card with the ability is in play after battle.

Offline TheIrishman

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 73
  • "The Island" Region #Nats2020
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Re: Can a withdrawn character be negated once in territory?
« Reply #4 on: October 31, 2020, 11:44:35 PM »
0
What about a card like Treacherous Land?  If TL was underdecked by LoC Joshua, would it be able to trigger and recur itself from under the deck since it was in play when a multi brigade card (Joshua) was played?

Spoiler (hover to show)

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3260
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Can a withdrawn character be negated once in territory?
« Reply #5 on: November 01, 2020, 01:55:52 AM »
0
No. The card with the triggered ability has to be in play in order to use optional trigger.