Author Topic: Book of the Covenant...  (Read 245 times)

Offline 777Godspeed

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1918
  • Breathe redemption into wasted life, Breathe deep
    • -
    • Northwest Region
Book of the Covenant...
« on: August 12, 2019, 04:10:40 PM »
0
Book of the Covenant (Tabernacle, Temple, Holds up to 2 Covenants) SA - You may take a Covenant from Reserve (or deck if you control a Tabernacle priest). Protect contents from evil cards. Contents cannot be negated. Each upkeep, if a Covenant is here, you may draw 1.

Question - I activate Book of the Covenant during my Prep Phase and take a Covenant from Reserve. Am I allowed to immediately activate it on Book? If so, what SA is allowing the second art activation to take place during the same phase?

What I found in the REG is this:
Special Conditions
● If a hold effect allows a card to hold an Artifact, Covenant or Curse, putting an Artifact, Covenant or Curse
there triggers an activate an Artifact effect for that Artifact, Covenant or Curse.

I am probably answering my own question here, but want to make sure that is how BotC works.

Godspeed,
Mike
Divine mental biopsy reveals you need psychosurgery
When in doubt  D3.
I support Your Turn Games.

Offline Bobbert

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1740
  • The player formerly known as Thomas Hunter
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Book of the Covenant...
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2019, 04:25:33 PM »
0
You are allowed to immediately activate it, since Book creates two available slots to activate covenants (similar to how a Temple works). That said, the activation isn't part of the ability, so your opponent does have a chance to play a dominant (like Destruction or Woes) on Book.
ANB is good. Change my mind.

Offline 777Godspeed

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1918
  • Breathe redemption into wasted life, Breathe deep
    • -
    • Northwest Region
Re: Book of the Covenant...
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2019, 04:39:26 PM »
0
You are allowed to immediately activate it, since Book creates two available slots to activate covenants (similar to how a Temple works). That said, the activation isn't part of the ability, so your opponent does have a chance to play a dominant (like Destruction or Woes) on Book.

Which game rule would then cover the activation of a second art if there is not an SA specifying it to happen?

I am thinking it is this combo from the REG:
Hold
How to Play
Special Conditions
● If a hold effect allows a card to hold an Artifact, Covenant or Curse, putting an Artifact, Covenant or Curse
there triggers an activate an Artifact effect for that Artifact, Covenant or Curse.

Activate an Artifact
How to Play
● An activate an Artifact effect allows a player to activate an Artifact in a location they control during a phase
other than the Preparation Phase or an additional time during the Preparation Phase. (bolded for emphasis)

Book of the Covenant has the Hold condition in the Identifier which triggers the Activate an Artifact, thus activating Book allows you to take a Covenant and activate it on Book the same Prep phase Book was activated. Is that the basics of it?

Godspeed,
Mike
« Last Edit: August 12, 2019, 04:50:15 PM by 777Godspeed »
Divine mental biopsy reveals you need psychosurgery
When in doubt  D3.
I support Your Turn Games.

Offline Bobbert

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1740
  • The player formerly known as Thomas Hunter
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Book of the Covenant...
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2019, 04:46:29 PM »
0
On the list of actions you can take during Prep phase:

Quote from: REG
• Activate an Artifact on your Artifact pile (limit once per turn)
• Activate an Artifact in a location other than your Artifact pile, depending on holds or activate an Artifact abilities

Since Book has a Holds ability, covenants can be activated there outside the "once per turn" of the artifact pile.
ANB is good. Change my mind.

Offline Kevinthedude

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1813
  • Yo
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Book of the Covenant...
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2019, 04:48:12 PM »
0
You are allowed to immediately activate it, since Book creates two available slots to activate covenants (similar to how a Temple works). That said, the activation isn't part of the ability, so your opponent does have a chance to play a dominant (like Destruction or Woes) on Book.

Which game rule would then cover the activation of a second art if there is not an SA specifying it to happen?

Godspeed,
Mike

You can activate an artifact once per turn in each location where an artifact can be activated. Normally the only one is you artifact pile, but Temples, Book, and other cards that hold artifacts give you more "slots" to activate artifacts in.