Author Topic: A lot of dumb questions about game play  (Read 501 times)

Offline Derrick1973

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Eastern PA player
    • LFG
    • Northeast Region
A lot of dumb questions about game play
« on: July 07, 2020, 11:48:08 AM »
0
It has been a while and I have yet to see a flood survivors deck in action,  Sorry if these are basic questions but I just don't know the answers.  These are mostly dealing with flood survivor and Noah's Ark related questions.

1.) If I capture a flood character in battle does Noah's ark prevent that and put the character into the ark? -Since the ark says if your flood survivor is harmed or defeated...  IS harmed or defeated = capture

2.) Taking a character out of the ark, are they already considered in play, since the ark is played to set aside?  -I have Birthing Pains curse-If an opponent puts a human in play,...

3.)The wives!  a.) The first sentence for the three sons wives, since they are territory characters, can they all be done every turn?  Shem wife-Return an oppont's evil card to hand.  Ham wife-look at oppont's hand.  Japh wife-you may shuffle a deck.

b.) Japheth's wife also then says, If your flood survivor is removed from battle by Noah's ark, you may add this hero to battle.  So how does a character get removed from battle by Noah's Ark?  So she can enter every battle after another flood character is defeated?  Is not the defeating character removing the flood survivor from the battle and Noah's Ark is just sending it to the Ark instead of the discard pile? 

Okay two more dumb questions
4.) Reserve - do they get same sleeves as deck?  Or are they to be sleeved different sleeves?

5.) Eternal Judgement(PoC) - dual good/evil territory enhancement.  Place in territory: You may give this card to a player to negate and discard their enhancement or last enhancement...

Once the card does that, Does that mean that your opponent now controls the card and can play it against you?
Derrick Palumbo
Bondservant of Jesus Christ
Grace&Peace from God our Father & the Lord Jesus Christ

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3187
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: A lot of dumb questions about game play
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2020, 12:43:52 PM »
0
1. Yes, a flood survivor being captured can be put it Noah's Ark. But it's not preventing the capture, it's replacing it, because the flood survivor is put in Ark instead of being harmed or defeated.

Also, "defeated" is basically "lost in battle", and "harmed" is "targeted by a neutral card an opponent controls or any card of opposite alignment", so there's a lot that meets one of them.

2. Since Ark is set-aside, which is not in play, the character returning from Ark would be put in play and trigger birthing pains.

3a. No. Instant abilities only happen when the character enters territory (put down from hand, deck, etc., returning from Ark or battle, etc.). It would need to say when each turn, like "Each upkeep", on Solomon the Wise.

3b. Ark replaces the harm or defeat, so Ark is the card doing the removing. If you use Ark to save a character in battle, you can add Japheth's Wife to the battle.

4. The Reserve is sleeved in the same sleeves. Cards from the Reserve often wind up in the deck, so they need to not be identifiable while in the deck.

5. Give puts the card in the opponent's hand, so they can play it if they have a character that can use it.

Offline Derrick1973

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Eastern PA player
    • LFG
    • Northeast Region
Re: A lot of dumb questions about game play
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2020, 12:32:52 PM »
0
Thank you!!   ;D
That helps a lot!!   ;D
I may make a continued thread of Derrick's dumb questions.  I need to start writing them down so I can post.  I'm certainly not the oldest player, but as I get older my mind is starting to go!!  I just do not play enough to remember these things. ??? :-\
Derrick Palumbo
Bondservant of Jesus Christ
Grace&Peace from God our Father & the Lord Jesus Christ

Offline TheJaylor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2900
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: A lot of dumb questions about game play
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2020, 01:26:06 PM »
0
Thank you!!   ;D
That helps a lot!!   ;D
I may make a continued thread of Derrick's dumb questions.  I need to start writing them down so I can post.  I'm certainly not the oldest player, but as I get older my mind is starting to go!!  I just do not play enough to remember these things. ??? :-\

We certainly welcome all questions here, even "dumb" ones. If you haven't found it already, there's also a Discord channel where you can ask quick questions as well. Usually it's best for when you're in-game and need a quick reply.

I noticed your personal text says you're in Eastern PA. Are you planning to attend Nationals?
« Last Edit: July 08, 2020, 11:57:26 PM by TheJaylor »
Fortress Alstad

Offline Derrick1973

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Eastern PA player
    • LFG
    • Northeast Region
Re: A lot of dumb questions about game play
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2020, 12:01:51 PM »
0
Yes, I plan on being at Nationals. 
Derrick Palumbo
Bondservant of Jesus Christ
Grace&Peace from God our Father & the Lord Jesus Christ

Offline Derrick1973

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Eastern PA player
    • LFG
    • Northeast Region
Re: A lot of dumb questions about game play
« Reply #5 on: July 22, 2020, 12:13:14 PM »
0
Okay here we go again.  Since I have yet to really use a site in battle, Does the site have to active before the character activates or is the site the last thing that activates once put in battle with a hero?
Derrick Palumbo
Bondservant of Jesus Christ
Grace&Peace from God our Father & the Lord Jesus Christ

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3187
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: A lot of dumb questions about game play
« Reply #6 on: July 22, 2020, 01:06:58 PM »
+1
The Site activates after the Hero. Technically, the Site should be added after you finish the Hero's ability, but it's acceptable to push them in at the same time to save time.

Offline Derrick1973

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Eastern PA player
    • LFG
    • Northeast Region
Re: A lot of dumb questions about game play
« Reply #7 on: July 22, 2020, 04:55:21 PM »
0
The Site activates after the Hero. Technically, the Site should be added after you finish the Hero's ability, but it's acceptable to push them in at the same time to save time.

So that being said, like the flood survivors, does the site go active after first hero or after all banding has happened?
Derrick Palumbo
Bondservant of Jesus Christ
Grace&Peace from God our Father & the Lord Jesus Christ

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3187
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: A lot of dumb questions about game play
« Reply #8 on: July 22, 2020, 07:48:33 PM »
0
After all the banding.

Offline Derrick1973

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Eastern PA player
    • LFG
    • Northeast Region
Re: A lot of dumb questions about game play
« Reply #9 on: August 02, 2020, 01:13:06 PM »
0
Okay so I have been doing some research on threads about redirecting.  Redirect ruling is you cannot change the wording so redirecting Scattered would simple under-deck your hero(s) so if you are winning the battle you probably do not want to do that, correct?
Derrick Palumbo
Bondservant of Jesus Christ
Grace&Peace from God our Father & the Lord Jesus Christ

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3187
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: A lot of dumb questions about game play
« Reply #10 on: August 02, 2020, 03:06:05 PM »
0
That's correct.

Offline Derrick1973

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Eastern PA player
    • LFG
    • Northeast Region
Re: A lot of dumb questions about game play
« Reply #11 on: August 05, 2020, 05:21:34 PM »
0
Okay, Treacherous Land site card - If opponent plays a good multi-brigade card in battle or a Dominant you may draw 1 from bottom of deck.

So if they play nothing but multi cards can the person with TL draw for each multi card played?  Or is it once they do it no matter how many times you just get one draw?
Derrick Palumbo
Bondservant of Jesus Christ
Grace&Peace from God our Father & the Lord Jesus Christ

Offline Derrick1973

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Eastern PA player
    • LFG
    • Northeast Region
Re: A lot of dumb questions about game play
« Reply #12 on: August 05, 2020, 05:46:53 PM »
0
Got another one, So if CwD is out does that stop Deceiver from exchanging with human EC since it is a CBP?
Derrick Palumbo
Bondservant of Jesus Christ
Grace&Peace from God our Father & the Lord Jesus Christ

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3187
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: A lot of dumb questions about game play
« Reply #13 on: August 05, 2020, 08:21:57 PM »
0
Okay, Treacherous Land site card - If opponent plays a good multi-brigade card in battle or a Dominant you may draw 1 from bottom of deck.

So if they play nothing but multi cards can the person with TL draw for each multi card played?  Or is it once they do it no matter how many times you just get one draw?

Once for each multi card or Dom they play.

Got another one, So if CwD is out does that stop Deceiver from exchanging with human EC since it is a CBP?

CwD does not stop The Deceiver (or any CBP card), as long as it is active before they activate (which is always the case for characters entering battle, unless CwD is activated mid-battle).

Offline CaydenJ

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Re: A lot of dumb questions about game play
« Reply #14 on: August 05, 2020, 09:56:37 PM »
0
I have another question, so i was playing a game and my opponent goes to rescue with Jehoida, King Maker and bands to Josiah and protects him. I block with Nebuchadnezzar and search for The Great Fish and negate his Jehoida. Does that return Josiah to territory, and stop him being protected? Or did the ability already happen.

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3187
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: A lot of dumb questions about game play
« Reply #15 on: August 05, 2020, 10:25:04 PM »
0
Yes, negating Jehoiada negates both the protect and the band. It does not negate Josiah, but does send him back to territory.

Generally speaking, the ability having already happened has no impact on whether it can be negated.