Author Topic: A Couple Random Questions  (Read 139 times)

Offline TheIrishman

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • -
    • Northeast Region
A Couple Random Questions
« on: July 27, 2020, 03:20:04 PM »
0
1.  Can an artifact activated on a character reactivate when the character holding the artifact enters battle?
Consider the following scenario: I make an RA with Elijah and choose my opponent’s Assyrian Laborers with Confusion of Mind activated on it to block.  Does Confusion of Mind reactivate once the laborers enter battle thus negating my Elijah?

2.  Does a “choose the rescuer/blocker” ability give my opponent SI?  I would imagine that since the ability still leaves my opponent with a character in battle my opponent would not be granted SI.

Spoiler (hover to show)
Spoiler (hover to show)
Spoiler (hover to show)

Offline landonh5

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Re: A Couple Random Questions
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2020, 04:23:12 PM »
0
Since the artifact is already activated (it's an ongoing ability before the battle even starts), Elijah's abilities are negated, therefore he cannot choose a blocker. You would have to discard two good enhancements or one good Dominate in order to discard and remove the curse's ability. Then Elijah could start an RA and be free to a choose blocker. I believe that's the way it would go.

I'm kind of curious of what would happen if you owned the Assyrian Laborers with Confusion of Mind activated on it and then tried to bring it into battle. Is that even possible? I know it probably wouldn't be a smart move, but kind of cool though.

Offline Crashfach2002

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2809
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: A Couple Random Questions
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2020, 05:07:56 PM »
0
Since the artifact is already activated (it's an ongoing ability before the battle even starts), Elijah's abilities are negated, therefore he cannot choose a blocker. You would have to discard two good enhancements or one good Dominate in order to discard and remove the curse's ability. Then Elijah could start an RA and be free to a choose blocker. I believe that's the way it would go.

I'm kind of curious of what would happen if you owned the Assyrian Laborers with Confusion of Mind activated on it and then tried to bring it into battle. Is that even possible? I know it probably wouldn't be a smart move, but kind of cool though.

One quick correction.  Elijah is CBP so he does still work despite CoM being active.  Otherwise yes to the above.  Also you can enter battle with AL but that seems like a bad way to lose two cards.

Offline TheJaylor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2823
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: A Couple Random Questions
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2020, 05:38:18 PM »
0
2.  Does a “choose the rescuer/blocker” ability give my opponent SI?  I would imagine that since the ability still leaves my opponent with a character in battle my opponent would not be granted SI.

You imagine correctly.
Fortress Alstad

Offline TheIrishman

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Re: A Couple Random Questions
« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2020, 11:45:32 PM »
0
So since CoM is an ongoing ability does that mean it cannot reactivate if it enters battle on AL to then negate Elijah?

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3096
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: A Couple Random Questions
« Reply #5 on: July 28, 2020, 12:46:16 AM »
0
An Artifact only activates when you flip it face up, or declare it remains active in lieu of your other options in your Prep Phase. Changing the location of the Artifact (like entering battle on a character) doesn't activate it.

CoM is ongoing, but that's not why it doesn't reactivate.

Offline CaydenJ

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Re: A Couple Random Questions
« Reply #6 on: July 28, 2020, 03:23:56 PM »
+1
A couple more questions. I may sound really dumb, but if a card cannot be prevented, does that mean it cannot be negated? how does the Cbn, Cbp, Cbi stuff work? And also, If you shuffle all captured characters in your territory e.g. Death of the Unrighteous then what happens to your captured characters and your lost soul tokens?
« Last Edit: July 29, 2020, 07:25:25 AM by CaydenJ »

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3096
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: A Couple Random Questions
« Reply #7 on: July 28, 2020, 03:53:29 PM »
0
CBN, CBP, and CBI refer to the timing of when the card can (or can't, really) be stopped.

CBP:
CANNOT be prevented/negated by an ability activated BEFORE the card it is on is played
CAN be interrupted/negated by an ability activated AFTER the card it is on is played

CBI:
CAN be prevented/negated by an ability activated BEFORE the card it is on is played
CANNOT be interrupted/negated by an ability activated AFTER the card it is on is played

CBN:
CANNOT be prevented/negated by an ability activated BEFORE the card it is on is played
CANNOT be interrupted/negated by an ability activated AFTER the card it is on is played