Author Topic: 2 unrelated questions  (Read 611 times)

Offline sepjazzwarrior

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2233
  • The best defense is a fast offense
    • -
    • Midwest Region
2 unrelated questions
« on: December 05, 2020, 09:53:02 PM »
0
1. If a card says "search for a multi brigade site" does that mean a site with more than one brigade or a site with every brigade only?

2.  An ability gained in a previous phase, like gathering of angels, is that ability cannot be negated in battle?

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3260
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: 2 unrelated questions
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2020, 11:56:53 PM »
0
1. More than one brigade. "Rainbow" is our term for every brigade, although I don't think it's been used on a card.

2. We have (or used to have) a rule that abilities gained via set-aside abilities were CBN, which included things like Gathering of Angels. It does not (or did not) apply to things like the gained band on the Artifact side of the Jeremiah New Covenant.

Offline sepjazzwarrior

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2233
  • The best defense is a fast offense
    • -
    • Midwest Region
Re: 2 unrelated questions
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2020, 09:10:00 AM »
0
Thanks for the answers, here are 2 more i just thought of:

3.  Is an equip ability also considered a play ability? Like would ezekiel negate and equip ability used in battle?

4.  If i shuffle new cov jeremiah after activating it off of book of the cov, can i activate a new artifact in its place?  Book of the cov says holds 2 covs, not that only 2 can be activated there

Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 2414
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Re: 2 unrelated questions
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2020, 10:34:44 AM »
0
3.  No. A play ability is an ability that tells you to play something (usually an enhancement).

4.  If New Covenant was the second covenant you had active on Book then you wouldn’t be able to activate a third covenant there. Hold and activate, when it comes to artifacts, are almost synonymous. Since you activated a 2nd covenant there (new covenant) then that was the second covenant you were permitted to activate in that location. From the REG:

If a hold effect allows a card to hold an Artifact, Covenant or Curse, putting an Artifact, Covenant or Curse there triggers an activate an Artifact effect for that Artifact, Covenant or Curse.
Redemption is Here! Visit Your Turn Games today!

Offline sepjazzwarrior

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2233
  • The best defense is a fast offense
    • -
    • Midwest Region
Re: 2 unrelated questions
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2020, 11:43:49 AM »
0
But is not an ability telling you to equip a weapon to a character in battle also nit in essence also telling you to play that weapon?

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3260
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: 2 unrelated questions
« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2020, 12:02:55 PM »
0
Our ruling has been that "play abilities" is short for "play an Enhancement abilities", otherwise RoA Samuel would have prevented David, the Shepherd from playing Throne or a warrior, when he was still legal.

Any change to that would probably be something like "abilities that play cards and use the word play" to avoid negating band and add to battle (and equip) abilities.

Offline sepjazzwarrior

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2233
  • The best defense is a fast offense
    • -
    • Midwest Region
Re: 2 unrelated questions
« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2020, 08:37:10 AM »
0
So then would jeremiah toss an weapon that was equiped in battle via special ability?

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3260
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: 2 unrelated questions
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2020, 11:37:01 AM »
0
Yes, just like he would toss an Enhancement Nebby added to battle. Toss looks for the game action "playing an Enhancement", which is broader than "abilities that play Enhancements" (play an Enhancement, equip, add to battle) which is different from "play abilities", which currently only looks at those with the words "play an Enhancement".

Offline sepjazzwarrior

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2233
  • The best defense is a fast offense
    • -
    • Midwest Region
Re: 2 unrelated questions
« Reply #8 on: December 07, 2020, 10:42:17 PM »
0
Ok I guess that makes as much sense as anything else in redemption does...

If the weapon was already on the ec when it enters battle, would jeremiah toss it?

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3260
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: 2 unrelated questions
« Reply #9 on: December 08, 2020, 11:36:43 AM »
0
Yes. Equipped weapons are replayed whenever they enter battle.

Offline sepjazzwarrior

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2233
  • The best defense is a fast offense
    • -
    • Midwest Region
Re: 2 unrelated questions
« Reply #10 on: December 08, 2020, 05:24:05 PM »
0
Ok thank you!