Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Redemption® Resources and Thinktank => Strategies and Combos => Topic started by: Ironisaac on July 16, 2017, 05:10:39 PM

Title: Guardian
Post by: Ironisaac on July 16, 2017, 05:10:39 PM
Is there any way to discard/get rid of guardian once it's active in lor?
Title: Re: Guardian
Post by: Kevinthedude on July 16, 2017, 05:12:23 PM
Nope.
Title: Re: Guardian
Post by: Ironisaac on July 16, 2017, 05:13:19 PM
Thought so, just checking. Well, that's disappointing.
Title: Re: Guardian
Post by: Adevine on July 16, 2017, 05:19:30 PM
Thought so, just checking. Well, that's disappointing.

Can he not be at least shut down by 3woes?
Title: Re: Guardian
Post by: Kevinthedude on July 16, 2017, 05:23:56 PM
Thought so, just checking. Well, that's disappointing.

Can he not be at least shut down by 3woes?

Couple issues with that, first is that Dominants cannot be negated at all, secondly LoR is not an in play location so a card would need to specific it can target cards and abilities in a LoR for it to be able to do so.
Title: Re: Guardian
Post by: Jonesy on July 16, 2017, 08:44:29 PM
Just want to Clarify, are you referring to the dominant or the person? ;)
If it is the person I might have a way
Title: Re: Guardian
Post by: The Guardian on July 16, 2017, 08:45:20 PM
Just want to Clarify, are you referring to the dominant or the person? ;)
If it is the person I might have a way

 :o
Title: Re: Guardian
Post by: Kevinthedude on July 16, 2017, 10:18:02 PM
Couple issues with that, first is that Dominants cannot be negated at all, secondly LoR is not an in play location so a card would need to specific it can target cards and abilities in a LoR for it to be able to do so.

I think if a card was worded as: "Discard a good card not in battle." then it would work. Currently there is no such card and I don't imagine there ever will be.

That is an interesting point but I believe it is incorrect. I very well could be wrong on this but I'm pretty sure to target something in an out of play location, the specific location has to actually be stated. In this case, an ability would have to specify "discard a good card in a Land of Redemption" to be able to target Guardian.
Title: Re: Guardian
Post by: Adevine on July 16, 2017, 10:19:58 PM
Couple issues with that, first is that Dominants cannot be negated at all, secondly LoR is not an in play location so a card would need to specific it can target cards and abilities in a LoR for it to be able to do so.

I think if a card was worded as: "Discard a good card not in battle." then it would work. Currently there is no such card and I don't imagine there ever will be.


Just want to Clarify, are you referring to the dominant or the person? ;)
If it is the person I might have a way

(https://media3.giphy.com/media/l3vR5EI0tZ50imQ48/200_s.gif)

 :maul:
Title: Re: Guardian
Post by: megamanlan on July 16, 2017, 10:30:51 PM
Couple issues with that, first is that Dominants cannot be negated at all, secondly LoR is not an in play location so a card would need to specific it can target cards and abilities in a LoR for it to be able to do so.

I think if a card was worded as: "Discard a good card not in battle." then it would work. Currently there is no such card and I don't imagine there ever will be.

That is an interesting point but I believe it is incorrect. I very well could be wrong on this but I'm pretty sure to target something in an out of play location, the specific location has to actually be stated. In this case, an ability would have to specify "discard a good card in a Land of Redemption" to be able to target Guardian.

Actually it's already been stated that "outside of battle" can include anything outside of play. Lampstand's ruling states that Falling Away cannot take a Redeemed Soul away because LoR is outside of battle.

Just want to Clarify, are you referring to the dominant or the person? ;)
If it is the person I might have a way

You assume that it will work... and that you can overcome his powers... Oops I wasn't supposed to reveal that secret yet...
Title: Re: Guardian
Post by: kariusvega on July 16, 2017, 10:35:57 PM
Can Guardian involve music?
Title: Re: Guardian
Post by: Kevinthedude on July 16, 2017, 10:37:27 PM
Couple issues with that, first is that Dominants cannot be negated at all, secondly LoR is not an in play location so a card would need to specific it can target cards and abilities in a LoR for it to be able to do so.

I think if a card was worded as: "Discard a good card not in battle." then it would work. Currently there is no such card and I don't imagine there ever will be.

That is an interesting point but I believe it is incorrect. I very well could be wrong on this but I'm pretty sure to target something in an out of play location, the specific location has to actually be stated. In this case, an ability would have to specify "discard a good card in a Land of Redemption" to be able to target Guardian.

Actually it's already been stated that "outside of battle" can include anything outside of play. Lampstand's ruling states that Falling Away cannot take a Redeemed Soul away because LoR is outside of battle.

Interesting, so that means The Ends of the Earth can negate Gates of Hell even though it's in set-aside?
Title: Re: Guardian
Post by: Red Wing on July 16, 2017, 10:39:26 PM
Can Guardian involve music?
He probably sang in church once so why not?
Title: Re: Guardian
Post by: The Guardian on July 16, 2017, 10:39:42 PM
Can Guardian involve music?

I don't sing.

Quote
Interesting, so that means The Ends of the Earth can negate Gates of Hell even though it's in set-aside?

(https://a4-images.myspacecdn.com/images03/28/79efa44f223b4ae08205fe881d3ef1fe/300x300.jpg)
Title: Re: Guardian
Post by: Master Q on July 16, 2017, 10:44:43 PM
Interesting, so that means The Ends of the Earth can negate Gates of Hell even though it's in set-aside?

That was one of my intentions. "Mos Def" 8)

Fun fact - For the second ability, it originally just said: "If a missionary is in battle, negate an evil or neutral card." Obviously I didn't want it to be able to negate evil cards in battle, so it changed rather quickly to "not in battle".
Title: Re: Guardian
Post by: kariusvega on July 16, 2017, 10:50:50 PM
Interesting, so that means The Ends of the Earth can negate Gates of Hell even though it's in set-aside?

That was one of my intentions. "Mos Def" 8)

Fun fact - For the second ability, it originally just said: "If a missionary is in battle, negate an evil or neutral card." Obviously I didn't want it to be able to negate evil cards in battle, so it changed rather quickly to "not in battle".

very nice
Title: Re: Guardian
Post by: megamanlan on July 16, 2017, 10:56:12 PM
Couple issues with that, first is that Dominants cannot be negated at all, secondly LoR is not an in play location so a card would need to specific it can target cards and abilities in a LoR for it to be able to do so.

I think if a card was worded as: "Discard a good card not in battle." then it would work. Currently there is no such card and I don't imagine there ever will be.

That is an interesting point but I believe it is incorrect. I very well could be wrong on this but I'm pretty sure to target something in an out of play location, the specific location has to actually be stated. In this case, an ability would have to specify "discard a good card in a Land of Redemption" to be able to target Guardian.

Actually it's already been stated that "outside of battle" can include anything outside of play. Lampstand's ruling states that Falling Away cannot take a Redeemed Soul away because LoR is outside of battle.

Interesting, so that means The Ends of the Earth can negate Gates of Hell even though it's in set-aside?

I'd say yea.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal