Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: TheJaylor on February 26, 2013, 04:11:05 PM

Title: Zeresh Advises Haman
Post by: TheJaylor on February 26, 2013, 04:11:05 PM
Can you use this card to set aside your own Esther in territory if you have a brown evil character to play it on?

Zeresh Advises Haman
0/0 Brown EE
Set aside your Persian for three turns. On return discard X Heroes and a random face-down Artifact from each opponent's territory.
X = # of each opponents good brigades in play
Esther 5:14
Title: Re: Zeresh Advises Haman
Post by: JSB23 on February 26, 2013, 05:22:11 PM
I don't believe so.
Title: Re: Zeresh Advises Haman
Post by: STAMP on February 26, 2013, 05:58:09 PM
If I remember some of the theads recently, you may not target Esther if playing the set-aside during prep or discard phase, but may do so when played as an enhancement during battle.
Title: Re: Zeresh Advises Haman
Post by: Redoubter on February 26, 2013, 07:10:54 PM
If I remember some of the theads recently, you may not target Esther if playing the set-aside during prep or discard phase, but may do so when played as an enhancement during battle.

See this rulings conversation (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/two-possessed-28807/msg449953/#msg449953) between 4 Elders where the end result seems to be that you must target your own cards with set-asides played outside of battle, but you can target the opposite alignment.

Also, from the definition of the Set-Aside ability from the new REG:
Quote
A set-aside ability must target a card you own and control unless the set-aside card is either territory class or played in battle and gives no beneficial effect to the card set aside or the player that plays the set-aside card.

All rules and rulings state that it is indeed legal to set-aside your own Esther with Zeresh Advises Haman, especially as the Elder discussion involved a card like Two Possessed being played outside of battle, and the new definition is surprisingly (and refreshingly) clear.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal