Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Lawfuldog on February 02, 2009, 03:35:41 PM
-
Is Zebulun an ongoing ability? Meaning, if someone attacks with Zeb and ignores EC's over */10 and I block with a */10 character and he plays an enhancement that doesn't discard me, am I now ignored since his hand is down to 9?
Thanks,
Ben
-
Yes, Zebulun's ability is dynamic, it changes as the controller's hand size changes.
-
Alrighty. Thanks! :)
-
hey there just wondering if this is still the case since the foreign wives change! thanks!
-
The only comparison between Foreign Wives and Zebulun is that they both have a one-time, upon-entering-battle check for a specific condition. Whether or not Zebulun's ignore updates with hand size has no relation to any ruling on Foreign Wives.
Zebulun checks upon entering battle whether all your heroes are Genesis and, if so, it activates his ignore. The ignore (an ongoing ability) is then continuously calculated based on the number of cards in your hand. If you play a non-Genesis hero after Zebulun is already in battle it won't deactivate his ignore, and if you had one in play when he entered and get rid of it later it won't activate his ignore.
-
Or more simply, the tenses are different on the wording in the two cards.