Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: redemption collector 777 on July 15, 2015, 10:57:46 PM

Title: Zeal for the lord enhancement question.
Post by: redemption collector 777 on July 15, 2015, 10:57:46 PM
Zeal SA: Itb and discard two EC of different brigades. CBN if used by Phinehas son of Eleazar.

1. If a Teal hero is in battle with a lone black EC and Hero plays Zeal and there is only one evil brigade (black) in play that can be discarded , can the discard still work and just discard that one black EC?

2.  Can I discard two EC with the following brigades?   For example  (Haman brown brigade and King Manny brown and pale green)
Title: Re: Zeal for the lord enhancement question.
Post by: kram1138 on July 15, 2015, 11:25:45 PM
1: Yes. A case of do as much as you can.

2: Yes.
Title: Re: Zeal for the lord enhancement question.
Post by: Praeceps on July 16, 2015, 12:57:54 AM
1. Not sure. I recall that Escape to Egypt (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Escape_to_Egypt_(Di)) was ruled to only work if your opponent had 2 or more heroes in battle. Although I couldn't look for that thread as the search function tried to convince me no one has ever spoken of the card...

2. Yes this works. You can target Haman as Brown and Manny as PG. Two Bears (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Two_Bears_(RA)) constantly uses targeting like this :)
Title: Re: Zeal for the lord enhancement question.
Post by: ChristianSoldier on July 16, 2015, 01:16:22 AM
1. Not sure. I recall that Escape to Egypt (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Escape_to_Egypt_(Di)) was ruled to only work if your opponent had 2 or more heroes in battle. Although I couldn't look for that thread as the search function tried to convince me no one has ever spoken of the card...

I'm fairly sure it should work if there's only one hero in battle, falling under do as much as you can.
Title: Re: Zeal for the lord enhancement question.
Post by: Drrek on July 16, 2015, 01:59:16 AM
1. Not sure. I recall that Escape to Egypt (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Escape_to_Egypt_(Di)) was ruled to only work if your opponent had 2 or more heroes in battle. Although I couldn't look for that thread as the search function tried to convince me no one has ever spoken of the card...


That is entirely wrong.  You do as much as you are able to.
Title: Re: Zeal for the lord enhancement question.
Post by: Redoubter on July 16, 2015, 07:52:39 AM
1. Not sure. I recall that Escape to Egypt (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Escape_to_Egypt_(Di)) was ruled to only work if your opponent had 2 or more heroes in battle. Although I couldn't look for that thread as the search function tried to convince me no one has ever spoken of the card...


That is entirely wrong.  You do as much as you are able to.

I do remember that discussion somewhere, but agree that the ruling is 'do as much as you can' in cases like this.  It's not like you can't play the card or it has no effect.  Only cost-benefits really have a 'have to do everything' component, and that is just to gain the benefit.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal