Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Noah on April 19, 2011, 02:10:39 PM

Title: would this work?
Post by: Noah on April 19, 2011, 02:10:39 PM
I use Stalx of Flax to exchange my Men of Judah and one other hero with two heroes in there teritory, I then put Self in my teritory and make him copy Men of Judah, Then I put Two Thousand Horses on Self. Later when I get my heroes back I put men of Judah in Stronghold in the Desert. If this works can I then block with Self, Interupt the battle and play any Evil Enhancement?
Title: Re: would this work?
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on April 19, 2011, 02:50:50 PM
No sir. Yours = Ownership+control as does Opponent's I believe and even if I am wrong, control =/= ownership, so it would never be your opponent's hero.
Title: Re: would this work?
Post by: RTSmaniac on April 19, 2011, 09:45:44 PM
Stalks of Flax (TP)
Type: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: On activation, discard this card to exchange two O.T. human Heroes in your territory with two Heroes in an opponent's territory for two turns. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Joshua 2:6 • Availability: Thesaurus ex Preteritus booster packs ()

Seven Wicked Spirits (FF)
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Orange • Ability: 7 / 7 • Class: None • Special Ability: You may interrupt all Fortresses and exchange this Evil Character with any other Evil Character in play or set-aside area. • Identifiers: Generic NT Male Demon • Verse: Luke 11:26 • Availability: Faith of our Fathers booster packs (None)

Dont these cards change the ownership of targeted cards?

Self (P)
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Multicolor • Ability: * / * • Class: None • Special Ability: Abilities (*/*) match the abilities of one of opponent’s Heroes in play. If that Hero leaves the field of play, abilities become 0/0. • Errata: (Treat the special ability as an identifier) • Identifiers: Generic NT Human, Gender, testament, and other identifiers match selected Hero. • Verse: Colossians 3:9 •

Does this mean that Self copies the ability to hold a weapon if he copies Men of Judah?
Title: Re: would this work?
Post by: browarod on April 19, 2011, 11:52:09 PM
"Opponent's" refers solely to control. Your opponent controls characters swapped to them. I don't know about Self holding the WC-enhancement, but I know that you could indeed copy Men of Judah if you swapped it to your opponent with Stalks.
Title: Re: would this work?
Post by: YourMathTeacher on April 20, 2011, 07:31:50 AM
Warrior-class is not an Identifier, it is a Class. Self specifically says: "Class: None."
Title: Re: would this work?
Post by: RTSmaniac on April 20, 2011, 09:27:36 AM
oh well.
Title: Re: would this work?
Post by: STAMP on April 20, 2011, 10:54:05 AM
Yeah, I argued the wc question when Self first came out.  Apparently an evil copy of yourself forgets that you used to be a warrior.   :-\

Self just has no class.
Title: Re: would this work?
Post by: YourMathTeacher on April 20, 2011, 11:08:05 AM
Yeah, I argued the wc question when Self first came out.  Apparently an evil copy of yourself forgets that you used to be a warrior.   :-\

There are warriors that are not Warrior-Class (especially from the Warriors Set  :o ) and weapons that are not Weapon-Class, so this is not really inconsistent.
Title: Re: would this work?
Post by: SomeKittens on April 20, 2011, 11:25:18 AM
It only copies the numbers.  He could grab the numbers, but not hold the enhancement.
Title: Re: would this work?
Post by: Noah on April 20, 2011, 03:55:26 PM
Self (P)
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Multicolor • Ability: * / * • Class: None • Special Ability: Abilities (*/*) match the abilities of one of opponent’s Heroes in play. If that Hero leaves the field of play, abilities become 0/0. • Errata: (Treat the special ability as an identifier) • Identifiers: Generic NT Human, Gender, testament, and other identifiers match selected Hero. • Verse: Colossians 3:9 •

Does this mean that Self copies the ability to hold a weapon if he copies Men of Judah?
Title: Re: would this work?
Post by: browarod on April 20, 2011, 04:25:18 PM
Self (P)
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Multicolor • Ability: * / * • Class: None • Special Ability: Abilities (*/*) match the abilities of one of opponent’s Heroes in play. If that Hero leaves the field of play, abilities become 0/0. • Errata: (Treat the special ability as an identifier) • Identifiers: Generic NT Human, Gender, testament, and other identifiers match selected Hero. • Verse: Colossians 3:9 •

Does this mean that Self copies the ability to hold a weapon if he copies Men of Judah?
Warrior-class is not an Identifier, it is a Class. Self specifically says: "Class: None."


Also, the errata means to treat Self's special ability as an identifier, not the copied hero's special ability.
Title: Re: would this work?
Post by: RTSmaniac on April 20, 2011, 09:34:31 PM
It should copy- its you fighting yourself.
Title: Re: would this work?
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on April 22, 2011, 01:46:18 AM
:police: You may have noticed that this thread has gotten smaller. :police:

If anyone has legit arguments one way or the other on self, let them be heard.
Title: Re: would this work?
Post by: The Guardian on April 22, 2011, 01:54:21 AM
I for one have no legit arguments regarding my Self...
 :D
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal