Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: disciple_drew on March 22, 2011, 07:13:51 AM

Title: Would this combo work?
Post by: disciple_drew on March 22, 2011, 07:13:51 AM
This is a 4-card combo and I'm curious if it would work out this way...

Covenant of Eden + Sucidical Swine Stampede + Legion (DI) + Tartaros

Covenant of Eden basically protects characters being removed from the game and instead discards them.

Sucidical Swine Stampede removes all of your blocking evil characters from the game to shuffle all your lost souls into your deck.

Legion makes Sucidical Swine Stampede cannot be negated and if He's captured he returns to territory instead as well as can band to another legion card as well as whenever Son of God is played legion gets discarded.

Tartaros basically places discarded demons onto tartaros and if a demon "wins" a battle, a demon placed on tartaros gets released to territory.

My question is, if a player uses Legion to block and plays Sucidical Swine Stampede with Covenant of Eden & Tartaros active, Legion would get discarded onto tartaros but although the Sucidical Swine Stampede would remove Legion from the game would that still be classified as a "win" for tartaros to activate that same turn and return Legion back into territory?

Pardon me on why I didn't quote from the reg, the online reg isn't working for me right now so I had to write based on memory.
Title: Re: Would this combo work?
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on March 22, 2011, 07:37:41 AM
No because in order for stampede to work, the character has to be removed from the game. With edan it is insteaded.
Title: Re: Would this combo work?
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 22, 2011, 07:59:57 AM
I already asked for you:

http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=26006.0 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=26006.0)

I was wrong because of how "instead" cards are now ruled, specifically that they do not meet the "cost" requirement of a "cost-effect" ability.
Title: Re: Would this combo work?
Post by: RTSmaniac on March 22, 2011, 10:57:30 AM
http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=22729.0 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=22729.0)
August 12, 2010, 01:41:56 PM   :P
Title: Re: Would this combo work?
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 22, 2011, 01:34:04 PM
http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=22729.0 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=22729.0)
August 12, 2010, 01:41:56 PM   :P

LOL. Intersesting that I actually got it right back then, before "instead" was clarified, but I got it wrong this time when Drew called me.  :-\
Title: Re: Would this combo work?
Post by: RTSmaniac on March 23, 2011, 12:35:04 AM
i was thinking the same thing when i saw it
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal