Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Reth on June 11, 2016, 04:44:27 PM

Title: Would cards like Israelite Rebellion hurt myself if opponent has no targets?
Post by: Reth on June 11, 2016, 04:44:27 PM
Hi again,

I stumbled across this question in a situation I faced today where Israelite Rebellion was played by opponent but I did not have any hero available with toughness 4 or less - neither in battle nor in territory.
But my opponent had several of these heros within territory.

Now I wonder if opponent would have to have to capture one of own heros in order to satisfy the ability?

And: Does this also apply for all similar cards?

Thank you in advance for a short explanation!

Bye
Title: Re: Would cards like Israelite Rebellion hurt myself if opponent has no targets?
Post by: uthminister [BR] on June 11, 2016, 04:47:20 PM
Yes, if there is one available that is not protected from capture, it must be captured. If there was a "may" in the ability, there would be a choice but since there is not, the capture is mandatory if there is a legal target.
Title: Re: Would cards like Israelite Rebellion hurt myself if opponent has no targets?
Post by: Reth on June 11, 2016, 04:49:37 PM
So in worst case user of this card would have to capture one of his/her own heros from territory?

Does this also apply for all similar cards (capture, conversion, discard, ...)?
Title: Re: Would cards like Israelite Rebellion hurt myself if opponent has no targets?
Post by: uthminister [BR] on June 11, 2016, 05:02:21 PM
You are correct.
Title: Re: Would cards like Israelite Rebellion hurt myself if opponent has no targets?
Post by: Reth on June 11, 2016, 05:17:29 PM
Thank you for explanation!
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal