Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Red Dragon Thorn on May 19, 2009, 12:23:23 AM

Title: Worshipping Demons
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on May 19, 2009, 12:23:23 AM
Scenario -
Opponent rescues with some random hero - I block with an Orange character in a stalemate situation. He passes initiative to me, I play worshipping demons. I do not have an artifact depicting an idol in play.

Question -
Is the end the battle clause separate from the protect souls clause?
I was under the impression that it was and that the battle ends regardless, but the souls were only protected if the Altar was in play. (It boils down to can I end the battle without an idol in play)

Worshipping Demons
Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Orange • Ability: 0 / 3 • Class: None • Special Ability: If an Artifact depicting an idol or evil altar is in play, protect all Lost Souls from rescue. End the battle. Cannot be negated. • Identifiers: NT, Connected with Demons, False Religious Practice • Verse: Revelation 9:20 • Availability: Faith of Fathers (Set 2

Thanks,

RDT
Title: Re: Worshipping Demons
Post by: Scottie_ffgamer on May 19, 2009, 12:26:01 AM
The abilities are two completely separate sentences on the card so i would say that they are not part of the same ability.  So yes, the battle ends regardless of there being an idol up or not.
Title: Re: Worshipping Demons
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on May 19, 2009, 12:33:18 AM
The abilities are two completely separate sentences on the card so i would say that they are not part of the same ability.  So yes, the battle ends regardless of there being an idol up or not.

well the end the battle part and no LS is rescued is the same thing.

Well thats what I am asking - Because of the period which makes it two clauses does the first apply to the second (They are not the same FYI)
Title: Re: Worshipping Demons
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on May 19, 2009, 12:38:10 AM
No, the LS part is first and its Protect souls from rescue - It doesn't require the battle to end for them to be protected.
Title: Re: Worshipping Demons
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on May 19, 2009, 01:08:28 AM
The card works like this.

You play it.

-Then-

Check to see if the condition is met, If so, protect all Lost Souls from rescue.

-Then-

End the Battle.

If the condition is not met, the battle simply ends. If you loose by the numbers after the battle ends and the condition wasn't met, they still win the soul.
Title: Re: Worshipping Demons
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on May 19, 2009, 01:11:12 AM
Ok, good thats how I understood it to work.
Title: Re: Worshipping Demons
Post by: The Schaef on May 19, 2009, 06:42:59 AM
In the case of this scenario, the battle ends in a stalemate.  The protect LS ability requires the idol but the rest does not.  Since it's a stalemate, the Hero rescues no LS anyway.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal