Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: wyatt_marcum on June 07, 2013, 01:24:09 AM

Title: Wheel Within a Wheel question
Post by: wyatt_marcum on June 07, 2013, 01:24:09 AM
I had a ruling at Nats last year, about this. I used Wheel Within a Wheel to search for Captain of the host and placed Wheel on Captain. a judge ruled that the protect would not work in battle. I was later told it worked because it is a gained ability, activated outside of battle, therefore it would still work. Like Captain set aside by gathering of angels still working. Will it work or no?
Title: Re: Wheel Within a Wheel question
Post by: ChristianSoldier on June 07, 2013, 01:31:35 AM
From my understanding it will not work. It is a continuous ability on a a placed enhancement, not a gained ability. A gained ability would be something that gives an ability to the character, like Gathering of Angels.
Title: Re: Wheel Within a Wheel question
Post by: wyatt_marcum on June 07, 2013, 01:34:47 AM
that's what I was told at nats. I was informed differently by one elder, and wanted to see if the some Elders could come to a consensus.
Title: Re: Wheel Within a Wheel question
Post by: jbeers285 on June 07, 2013, 02:57:44 AM
that's what I was told at nats. I was informed differently by one elder, and wanted to see if the some Elders could come to a consensus.

I am not an elder but agree with the above ruling. When Captain with WwW enters battle he will negate wheel's ability.
Title: Re: Wheel Within a Wheel question
Post by: asrgimli on June 07, 2013, 08:01:56 AM
If my understanding of the situation is correct, it is the placing of Wheel W/in a Wheel that cannot be negated since it happened outside of battle (I could be wrong on that, though), but the protection is an ongoing ability, not a gained one.  So Captain would negate the ongoing ability, but not the placing since the placement has already stuck.  I'm not sure if it would have to be there for over a turn before it sticks or not?  I had thought about doing the same thing, but figured that he would negate the protection, and wasn't sure if he would even negate the placement if I tried to rescue on the same turn that I placed it on him.  Someone else would probably have to clarify that.
Title: Re: Wheel Within a Wheel question
Post by: Gabe on June 07, 2013, 08:09:00 AM
Those that have answered here a correct. The only way to make it CBN is to play it on Ezekiel or Michael in battle.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal