Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Lex1122 on March 08, 2018, 03:13:31 PM

Title: What is consider “playing enhancements “
Post by: Lex1122 on March 08, 2018, 03:13:31 PM
Hello,
Quick question is treasures of war considered to be played once placed and not activated? Or is it two played abilities? One to place and One to activate?
 
Treasures of war says place in territory and you may discard this to discard an artifact.
Title: Re: What is consider “playing enhancements “
Post by: Kevinthedude on March 08, 2018, 03:30:56 PM
Hello,
Quick question is treasures of war considered to be played once placed and not activated? Or is it two played abilities? One to place and One to activate?
 
Treasures of war says place in territory and you may discard this to discard an artifact.

An enhancement is considered played when a character uses it. I'm looking for the official definition of play atm.
For Treasures this means it is considered played when the initial place portion activates.

Quote from: REG
A card is considered “played” if it meets these criteria:
• You play an enhancement when it is used by a character, unless it is being used by a character in battle because the previous character to use it has been removed from battle.
• You play a character or rainbow site by putting it in your territory or your side of the battle.
• You play any other card type by putting it face up on the playing surface from hand, deck, Reserve, Artifact pile or discard pile due to your ability or game action, except when you discard a card from hand.
Title: Re: What is consider “playing enhancements “
Post by: Lex1122 on March 08, 2018, 04:07:34 PM
Okay because this a Covenant with Death situation. Covenant with death restricts players from playing enhancements unless opposed in battle. So during battle my opponent played Treasure of War and placed in territory while Convent with Death is up. But my opponent chooses to not discard Treasure of war during battle instead once the battle ends and nobody is opposed he try’s to discard Covenant with death. Can he do that? Or is he restricted from playing the enhancement until someone is opposed once more?

Title: Re: What is consider “playing enhancements “
Post by: The Guardian on March 08, 2018, 04:14:03 PM
That is a legal play since the enhancement has already been played.
Title: Re: What is consider “playing enhancements “
Post by: RedemptionAggie on March 08, 2018, 04:14:30 PM
Using the ability on a placed Enhancement is not playing the Enhancement, so the opponent can discard Treasures to discard Covenant with Death.
Title: Re: What is consider “playing enhancements “
Post by: Watchman on March 09, 2018, 07:41:04 AM
Play vs in-play is different. For example, if I place a weapon on a character in territory it’s not considered to have been played since the ability doesn’t activate. However, it does qualify as being a card in-play.

With this in mind, regarding the last entry in the REG quoted above, for the purposes of qualifying for “in-play” on Outsiders’ (gold/Black) ability about having more cards in play than your opponent, would face-down artifacts count as being “in play” but obviously not “played?” I have counted them as being in-play when I’ve used that card. I believe they are due to the rule change about the artifact pile being targetable. Just want to make sure for the purpose of the ability I cited above.
Title: Re: What is consider “playing enhancements “
Post by: The Guardian on March 09, 2018, 10:52:04 AM
Play vs in-play is different. For example, if I place a weapon on a character in territory it’s not considered to have been played since the ability doesn’t activate. However, it does qualify as being a card in-play.

With this in mind, regarding the last entry in the REG quoted above, for the purposes of qualifying for “in-play” on Outsiders’ (gold/Black) ability about having more cards in play than your opponent, would face-down artifacts count as being “in play” but obviously not “played?” I have counted them as being in-play when I’ve used that card. I believe they are due to the rule change about the artifact pile being targetable. Just want to make sure for the purpose of the ability I cited above.

That is correct, they are in play and count towards the Outsiders.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal