Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: SignoftheStar on March 29, 2013, 11:29:59 PM

Title: Weapons and the Characters that use them
Post by: SignoftheStar on March 29, 2013, 11:29:59 PM
So let's say we have Naaman with his Chariots and Horses and he goes and gets himself converted.
Do the horses stay? Why or why not?
Title: Re: Weapons and the Characters that use them
Post by: Mageduckey on March 30, 2013, 12:01:52 AM
From the REG:

Quote
Weapons follow the same rules as placed cards by following their bearers to any location in which they are moved.

So Naaman's horses get to pull his lazy rear end all over the place regardless of his allegiance.
Title: Re: Weapons and the Characters that use them
Post by: SignoftheStar on March 30, 2013, 12:02:25 AM
Good to know.
Title: Re: Weapons and the Characters that use them
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 30, 2013, 12:17:55 AM
There is a more specific explanation under Convert:

Special Conditions
 If a warrior-class character bearing a weapon-class enhancement is converted, the weapon class enhancement is automatically converted with the character. It converts to the same brigade and remains on the character.


However, I found the following to be quite intriguing, since I do not remember this ruling:

Default Conditions
 Special abilities on Heroes (and good weapons)* that have been converted to Evil Characters and evil weapons* can never activate. Special abilities on Evil Characters (and evil weapons)* that have been converted to Heroes may activate, except for special abilities that specifically target Heroes.


Does anyone know if the part about converted good weapons has always been that way?
Title: Re: Weapons and the Characters that use them
Post by: Captain Kirk on March 30, 2013, 12:44:23 AM
Quote
Does anyone know if the part about converted good weapons has always been that way?

It has not always been that way. I believe it was 2006/2007 when that ruling was made to prevent ability abuses and make things easier to rule on (less exceptions on which abilities converted to evil and which didn't). The REG entry is correct and true ttuesday original ruling.

Kirk
Title: Re: Weapons and the Characters that use them
Post by: Mr. Tumnus on March 30, 2013, 11:50:35 AM
Can we get an example of a weapon class enhancement that would still work after conversion and one that would not?
Title: Re: Weapons and the Characters that use them
Post by: Captain Kirk on March 30, 2013, 12:15:17 PM
Will not work after converted:
- All good WC enhancements (when converted to evil)
- Evil WC enhancements that target heroes (Abner's Spear, Dart,etc)

Will work after converted:
- All the evil horses
- Sword/Egyptian Spear/etc

Kirk
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal