Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: sepjazzwarrior on May 17, 2013, 04:45:46 AM
-
so, 2 characters in battle, one holding a weapon, the one holding weapon gets discarded/captured/whatever, does the weapon follow or stay in battle?
-
The weapon follows, but if the character is captured, the weapon stays on that character until the end of the phase or turn. I can't remember which one.
-
It stays.
-
elder pls?
-
I'd await more input, but I have always understood that you may choose whether it stays or not. So if you have Foreign Sword on Ishmaiah and you band to David, and Ishmaiah gets discarded, you can keep FS on David, or you can discard it with Ishmaiah to later recur it and put it on Ahimelek.
-
I'd await more input, but I have always understood that you may choose whether it stays or not. So if you have Foreign Sword on Ishmaiah and you band to David, and Ishmaiah gets discarded, you can keep FS on David, or you can discard it with Ishmaiah to later recur it and put it on Ahimelek.
This is how I've always understood the rule. If there is another hero in battle that the weapon can stick to, you may choose to have it do so.
-
The REG says, "Weapons follow the same rules as placed cards by following their bearers to any location in which they are moved."1 I didn't see any exceptions listed there, but I don't know what, if anything, the rulebook says on the matter.
Speaking of the rulebook, when will the new rulebook be released online?
1REG, Glossary, "Weapon-class Enhancement"
-
Also in regards to weapons, if two evil characters are banded in battle and an evil weapon-class enhancement is played during the battle, and then one of the evil characters is forced back to territory, if that character was warrior-class, does the weapon then follow him? Do the weapons get placed on characters during battle?
-
The way I've seen it played is that if:
1 - a WC-enh is on a character in territory before entering battle, and that character is discarded, then the WC-enh follows it to the discard pile.
2 - any enh is played in battle, and a character is removed but there are still other characters of the same brigade remaining, then the enh would stay in battle.
-
The way I've seen it played is that if:
1 - a WC-enh is on a character in territory before entering battle, and that character is discarded, then the WC-enh follows it to the discard pile.
2 - any enh is played in battle, and a character is removed but there are still other characters of the same brigade remaining, then the enh would stay in battle.
This is also my understanding of how it works. I believe the reason behind this is that the rule for enhancements to remain on a character in battle of matching brigade supersedes weapons following their holding.
-
I believe the reason behind this is that the rule for enhancements to remain on a character in battle of matching brigade supersedes weapons following their holding.
I believe you, but is there any way to know that from the existing REG and rulebook?
-
so weapons transfer in battle, done!
-
I believe the reason behind this is that the rule for enhancements to remain on a character in battle of matching brigade supersedes weapons following their holding.
I believe you, but is there any way to know that from the existing REG and rulebook?
I'm not sure and I'm not in a place to search right now. If nothing currently exists I'm open to suggestions on how to update the REG to reflect this.
-
Hey,
The 3rd Edition Rulebook and King's set insert both include the following statement:
If a warrioris discarded or captured, or returned to hand, all weapon cards on the character are discarded. If a warrioris converted, weapons remain on the character.
The 3rd Edition Rulebook includes the following statement (it is not on the insert):
Weapons may not be exchanged between characters and may only be moved to another characterin battle if the holder of the weapon is defeated and another warrior-class characteris in battle and able to hold the weapon.
These two would seem to be in conflict.
There is (or at least was) a rule that if a character is removed from battle, enhancements (not weapon specific) that were played on that character transfer to another character in battle that can use the enhancements. If there is no other character in battle that can use the enhancements they are discarded. But I can't find it in the rulebook or REG. Can anyone else find it (or know where it is)?
Tschow,
Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly