Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: sepjazzwarrior on October 05, 2011, 03:19:46 PM

Title: weapon questions
Post by: sepjazzwarrior on October 05, 2011, 03:19:46 PM
1.  I have 2 warrior-class heros banded together that are the same brigade, one holding a weapon, the other isn't.  if the one holding the weapon is discarded, does the weapon transfer to the other hero?

2.  What if the other hero is holding a weapon or isn't warrior-class, does the weapon from the discarded hero stay in battle?
Title: Re: weapon questions
Post by: lp670sv on October 05, 2011, 03:29:12 PM
1)
Quote from: "REG"
Weapons may not be exchanged between characters and may only be moved to another character in battle if the holder of the weapon is defeated and another warrior-class character is in battle and able to hold the weapon

I'm not sure if it would have to be discarded after battle though.

2) If it's not warrior class or not able to hold the weapon (if it's already holding a weapon it can't hold another) then..

Quote from: REG
If a warrior is discarded or captured, or returned to hand, all weapon cards on the character are discarded.
Title: Re: weapon questions
Post by: Minister Polarius on October 05, 2011, 04:02:04 PM
That is defunct.
Title: Re: weapon questions
Post by: lp670sv on October 05, 2011, 04:04:39 PM
What was the point of the new REG if it's still defunct exactly? This just came out the week of Nats. Until I'm shown a link to a ruling that was posted between when the new REG was released and now, I stand by what I said.
Title: Re: weapon questions
Post by: browarod on October 05, 2011, 04:13:21 PM
#1 I believe is actually that you can exchange weapons between heroes in battle (as long as the brigades are correct) even if none of them die/are defeated. I could be wrong, though.
Title: Re: weapon questions
Post by: Minister Polarius on October 05, 2011, 04:19:05 PM
http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/weapons-on-characters-returned-to-hand/ (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/weapons-on-characters-returned-to-hand/)
The correct rule. I believe it's also in ruling announcements and unresolved rulings (as resolved).
Title: Re: weapon questions
Post by: lp670sv on October 05, 2011, 04:23:52 PM
He wasn't asking if the hero is returned to hand, he asked what happens when one of the WC Character's is discarded.
Title: Re: weapon questions
Post by: Minister Polarius on October 05, 2011, 05:35:10 PM
Quote
If a warrior is discarded or captured, or returned to hand, all weapon cards on the character are discarded.
Is no longer accurate.
Title: Re: weapon questions
Post by: lp670sv on October 05, 2011, 05:40:04 PM
It is as it pertains to answering his question of if the character is discarded.
Title: Re: weapon questions
Post by: Minister Polarius on October 05, 2011, 05:48:38 PM
Is it?
Title: Re: weapon questions
Post by: lp670sv on October 05, 2011, 06:04:59 PM
Is it?

Yes. If the remaining character cannot hold the weapon, it is discarded.
Title: Re: weapon questions
Post by: Chronic Apathy on October 05, 2011, 06:28:57 PM
Traditionally, if two WC characters of the same brigade were in battle, and one holds a weapon, if the one holding the weapon dies, the other WC character can keep that enhancement. However, I do not know if that has changed. Unless I'm missing something, what Pol is talking about is entirely irrelevant to the scenario at hand.
Title: Re: weapon questions
Post by: Prof Underwood on October 05, 2011, 10:20:56 PM
Traditionally, if two WC characters of the same brigade were in battle, and one holds a weapon, if the one holding the weapon dies, the other WC character can keep that enhancement.
You are right that this was the traditional ruling.  However, it was recently announced that weapon enhs will follow the character that they are on except when the character is captured (in that case the weapon is discarded).  Therefore, if one character in a battle with a WC enh on them is discarded, it would seem that the WC enh would be discarded with them.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal