Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Watchman on July 03, 2018, 09:00:29 AM

Title: Wayward Sheep
Post by: Watchman on July 03, 2018, 09:00:29 AM
“...or give it to an opponent’s territory.”

Does this mean it can go to his LoB or among his EC line-up? I know it can’t be rescued but I don’t want my opponent to use the ability against me. If it works like how Claudius Lysias’ ability then it can go to the LoB.
Title: Re: Wayward Sheep
Post by: Kevinthedude on July 03, 2018, 09:06:03 AM
It's still just an EC so if it went to their territory it would go to their EC lineup.
Title: Re: Wayward Sheep
Post by: Watchman on July 03, 2018, 09:51:31 AM
The way it’s worded I don’t see why it can’t go to their LoB. What’s the benefit then of giving it to my opponent, to disrupt potential Unity ECs?
Title: Re: Wayward Sheep
Post by: kariusvega on July 03, 2018, 09:58:12 AM
The wording on this card seems like it could open the door to some major Kjv language on abilities like

Give unto thine  ;D ;D ;D thou shalt not giveth unto thine opponents lob
Title: Re: Wayward Sheep
Post by: Master Q on July 03, 2018, 10:06:20 AM
It doesn't change card type when you give it to the opponent. It was made that way specifically for a balancing factor and for booster shenanigans.
Title: Re: Wayward Sheep
Post by: The Guardian on July 03, 2018, 10:25:31 AM
It doesn't change card type when you give it to the opponent. It was made that way specifically for a balancing factor and for booster shenanigans.

Correct. There's also some other fun tricks you can use to get it back (Ahimelek anyone?  ::) )
Title: Re: Wayward Sheep
Post by: Gabe on July 03, 2018, 10:26:16 AM
The way it’s worded I don’t see why it can’t go to their LoB. What’s the benefit then of giving it to my opponent, to disrupt potential Unity ECs?
Because only capture abilities put characters in the LoB. See the relevant entries in the REG for “give” vs “capture”.
Title: Re: Wayward Sheep
Post by: Watchman on July 03, 2018, 10:33:29 AM
The way it’s worded I don’t see why it can’t go to their LoB. What’s the benefit then of giving it to my opponent, to disrupt potential Unity ECs?
Because only capture abilities put characters in the LoB. See the relevant entries in the REG for “give” vs “capture”.

Gotcha. That would explain it then. Thx
Title: Re: Wayward Sheep
Post by: Watchman on July 03, 2018, 10:34:36 AM
It doesn't change card type when you give it to the opponent. It was made that way specifically for a balancing factor and for booster shenanigans.

Correct. There's also some other fun tricks you can use to get it back (Ahimelek anyone?  ::) )

Nice one ;)
Title: Re: Wayward Sheep
Post by: SEB on July 03, 2018, 12:09:01 PM
The way it’s worded I don’t see why it can’t go to their LoB. What’s the benefit then of giving it to my opponent, to disrupt potential Unity ECs?

There could be "negative" EC printed someday. Like, "During your upkeep, discard a card from hand."
That would be great to give to my opponent.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal