Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: lduvall on September 04, 2016, 08:54:35 PM
-
If my Warrior Class Evil Character who has a Weapon Class Enhancement is captured, does the Weapon Class Enhancement stay with him while captured?
Thanks,
Lance
-
If the warrior is captured the weapon is discarded.
-
Thank you!
Lance
-
Yes, as Gabe likes to say, "You can't take a weapon to jail!" ;)
-
I am pretty sure once you are captured, I think the prison guards will remove all of your weapons so you don't fight back.
But now I raised a question, if my hero was captured with a placed enhancement on him, does the placed enhancement discard or stays. If it doesn't, may I please ask in what situation do the attached enhancement go with the character? Thank you very much.
Michael Leung
-
A placed enhancement is discarded when the character it is placed on is captured. The reason is the character no longer satisfies the requirement of the place enhancement (e.g., "Place on your hero") because the character is now a lost soul. If the character is underdecked or shuffled however, the character still meets the requirements of the enhancement and thus follows them into or under deck.
-
A placed enhancement is discarded when the character it is placed on is captured. The reason is the character no longer satisfies the requirement of the place enhancement (e.g., "Place on your hero") because the character is now a lost soul. If the character is underdecked or shuffled however, the character still meets the requirements of the enhancement and thus follows them into or under deck.
Same for a weapon?
-
I believe so, yes.
-
But when a character is captured, they are not consider to be called a lost soul, they fall into captured character category, for if the character(s) is returned to territory, whatever the placed enhancement do for the placing still exist. Which is why I was shocked about the weapon.
M.L.
-
The new REG does say "captured character" instead of Lost Soul. But that doesn't change the fact that being a "captured character" means they aren't what they were (hero/EC) when the card was placed, so it's discarded. Reverting back to hero/EC doesn't replace the placed card.
-
okay.
-
But when a character is captured, they are not consider to be called a lost soul, they fall into captured character category, for if the character(s) is returned to territory, whatever the placed enhancement do for the placing still exist. Which is why I was shocked about the weapon.
M.L.
If a captured character holding a placed enhancement or weapon is captured and then returned to territory later the placed enhancement or weapon shouldn't still exist because it should have been discarded when they were captured initially.
-
Weapons always fall off, but I don't think placed enhancements do. There is no default condition that would cause them to, but they do stop working most of the time. For example, Herod's Treachery says to place on "a Herod," so it will continue to function on a captured Herod.
-
Weapons always fall off, but I don't think placed enhancements do. There is no default condition that would cause them to, but they do stop working most of the time. For example, Herod's Treachery says to place on "a Herod," so it will continue to function on a captured Herod.
I know that there are some older cards say "treat as a lost soul" so I think including that case, the places enhancement would be discarded. But I can understand where you're coming from on the captured character part.
-
Weapons always fall off, but I don't think placed enhancements do. There is no default condition that would cause them to, but they do stop working most of the time. For example, Herod's Treachery says to place on "a Herod," so it will continue to function on a captured Herod.
I know that there are some older cards say "treat as a lost soul" so I think including that case, the places enhancement would be discarded. But I can understand where you're coming from on the captured character part.
Lost souls do keep identifiers so I do agree with Polarius, the only ones that should fall off are ones that aren't satisfied such as "place on a hero" unless there is another reason for them to fall off besides identifiers that I'm unaware of.
-
They don't even fall off then, they just stop working.
"Treat as a Lost Soul" is archaic "clarifying" language and doesn't actually mean anything.
-
So what is the ruling for place enhancement on characters than?
M.L.
-
Apparently it has nothing to do with identifiers or anything like that at all, just found this in the REG:
When a character is captured, all cards held by or placed on that
character are discarded.
-
o.0 Well I guess I was wrong about that. Now I'm wondering how long ago that changed and how many times I've played it wrong!
-
If I understand the changelog correctly it was added in the update to 3.0.0 a little over a year ago.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B1e-xE8p9fcGYnFrNGN2U0JoX1E/view (https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B1e-xE8p9fcGYnFrNGN2U0JoX1E/view)
-
lets say your Isaiah was discarded with Isaiah's call on him, then you use an enhancement to get a hero out of your discard, do you get Isaiah's call with him?
-
No you would not if it only brings back the hero. Placed enhancements reset if they go to hand, deck, or discard, even if they follow the card they used to be placed on.
-
I think that was just changed in the newest version of Heal.
-
I think that was just changed in the newest version of Heal.
Heal doesn't really count though since the hero never actually dies in the first place.
-
I assumed he was talking about heal.
-
Now that brings up a very important question. When the disciples were imprisoned in various circumstances, and even when Joseph and Daniel were, They never lost their faith. How would that ruling be Biblically sound with the fruits of the spirit? Wouldn't placed enhancements stay because they are actually character traits and not weapons?
-
Not all placed enhancements are beneficial. Some come from opponents. Therefore the ruling needs to be based on card type, not emotions.