Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: redemptioncousin on June 12, 2009, 04:09:50 PM
-
Uzzah says "You may discard Uzzah and an Artifact from your hand or artifact pile to protect all Lost Souls from rescue."
The Throne of David says "When your purple brigade King is blocked, if no Evil Character in battle has a weapon, you may draw X cards and play an O.T. purple brigade Enhancement."
If I make a rescue with King David and Uzzah blocks what happens??? What if I have Unified Kingdom in hand and a FBN human hero in territory???
Unified Kingdom says "Interrupt each Wall of Protection and band any number of O.T. human Heroes into battle. Cannot be negated if used by David."
-
Another additive... what if you play Reach of Desperation???
-
Thats a very good question that I wish I had an answer for.
If it turns out you CAN... i see Throne being used a lot more often.
-
Hey,
You would get to play an Old Testament enhancement on King David after Uzzah is discarded. Banding in a BTN character would not negate Uzzah because Uzzah is no longer in play (I can't think of any card off the top of my head that could negate Uzzah in that situation). Reach of Desperation would not be a playable card because it is not Old Testament.
Tschow,
Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
-
Hey,
You would get to play an Old Testament enhancement on King David after Uzzah is discarded. Banding in a BTN character would not negate Uzzah because Uzzah is no longer in play (I can't think of any card off the top of my head that could negate Uzzah in that situation). Reach of Desperation would not be a playable card because it is not Old Testament.
Tschow,
Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
What if you played United Kingdom banded in Cherubim which banded to ET who played RoD and then AOC?
-
Cherubim wouldn't work (its an angel). However, Jacob to Cherubim to ET would.
There... I knew there was a way... hahaha... but even then, since Uzzah is in the discard pile his ability can't be inturrupted. Correct?
-
Correct, Uzzah is discarded and currently no cards exist to "negate the last character" or anything along those lines. You can negate an enhancement that discards itself if the negate says "negate the last enhancement," however.
Kirk
-
But Uzzah's ongoing (the protect is, at least), and wouldn't that be interrupted by an ITB card regardless of where it is?
-
Marcus is correct.
-
While I may be correct, I don't know that that actually accomplishes anything - based on the archer ruling (discard + horses + end battle = dead hero, live archer), you'd still have to negate him in the discard pile.
-
If you could interrupt the ongoing protection, why couldnt you negate it with FBTN?
-
FBTN only negates in play, the protection would still be out of play. I think.
-
Well, how could you interrupt it then? If its interruptable, why cant you prevent it while interrupted?
-
So then would Reach on that combo plus the banding card work??? LOL this is insane.
-
ITB interrupts ongoing abilties, which includes Uzzah's protection. It wouldn't bring him back from the discard pile, so a BTN card wouldn't negate him, since he's out of play.
You could run into a similar situation with a discarded BTN hero - if you have a CBP ITB card, you could interrupt their prevent even though they're discarded, but I'm not sure how you'd negate the SA.
Or maybe I'm completely off base and ITB doesn't interrupt cards in the discard pile.
-
My question is... can you just interrupt ONE part of an ability? Uzzah's ability is all one sentance, how can you interrupt the protection without interrupting the discarding?
-
How can you interrupt an archer discarding himself without interrupting the discard of the hero? Or has that ruling changed?
-
Because the discarding of the hero is an instant abillity, which is not interupted by your own interrupt, however the discard the archer is an ongoing ability which is interrupted.
-
The ability on archers is a triggered ability. End-the-battle cards do not interrupt the discarding of the archer, they just circumvent the trigger.
ITB will interrupt Uzzah's ongoing protect ability. However, we currently do not have a card that will prevent it before it kicks back in.
(Maybe a new foil will have this ability? :prayer: )
-
Hey,
Uzzah has two abilities that work together as a cost/benefit ability pair. My personal belief is that that causes them to function as a single ability rather than two separate abilities (this belief has not yet been confirmed/approved by TPTB). So since the protect is ongoing, it can be interrupted by an interrupt the battle ability, and since the two abilities function as a single ability because of their cost/benefit relationship, the discard of Uzzah is interrupted as well. Thus an enhancement could be played after an interrupt the battle card (if you somehow find a way to play an interrupt the battle card after Uzzah uses his ability) to discard Uzzah from battle or to negate his ability in battle and it would stop Uzzah.
I believe this is consistent with King Zimri who also has a cost/benefit ability (cost: discard a crimson enhancement, benefit: discard all cards in battle). If Zimri's ability is interrupted and he is discarded before his ability can kick back in, I have always seen it played that the enhancement that was discarded for the ability is returned to hand. (i.e. because the benefit is undone the cost is undone too).
The reason Uzzah is different from Archers is that Uzzah is a cost/benefit ability pair whereas Archers has an optional ability followed by a separate triggered ability with a condition based on the use of the optional ability.
Tschow,
Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
-
So can the one new white card cymabls of the leivtes - Negate the special ability on one evil character be used to negate zimri, or otho, or uzzah? (after discard)
-
Not Uzzah because you do not get initiative.
-
The ability on archers is a triggered ability. End-the-battle cards do not interrupt the discarding of the archer, they just circumvent the trigger.
ITB will interrupt Uzzah's ongoing protect ability. However, we currently do not have a card that will prevent it before it kicks back in.
(Maybe a new foil will have this ability? :prayer: )
You would with Throne of David or possibly Angels Sword... play Reach or Swift Beings, then band a FBTN character in.