Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: BubbleBoy on August 20, 2011, 12:42:05 PM

Title: Using Amaziah Twice
Post by: BubbleBoy on August 20, 2011, 12:42:05 PM
Now that there are two different King Amaziah cards with different abilities, can I use both of their abilities in the same game?
Title: Re: Using Amaziah Twice
Post by: CJSports on August 20, 2011, 12:50:54 PM
You can't have them in the same deck so it doesn't matter anyways. (I don't know the answer however.)
Title: Re: Using Amaziah Twice
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on August 20, 2011, 01:13:23 PM
It seems like the answer should be yes. I'll be unbelievably shocked if the answer is no.
Title: Re: Using Amaziah Twice
Post by: BubbleBoy on August 20, 2011, 01:23:12 PM
You can't have them in the same deck so it doesn't matter anyways. (I don't know the answer however.)
Why can't you have them both in the same deck? They're different brigades.
Title: Re: Using Amaziah Twice
Post by: The Warrior on August 20, 2011, 01:27:56 PM
You can't have them in the same deck so it doesn't matter anyways. (I don't know the answer however.)
Why can't you have them both in the same deck? They're different brigades.
Same Name+Same art= Same Card
Same Name+Same  Brigade= Same Card
Title: Re: Using Amaziah Twice
Post by: MitchRobStew on August 20, 2011, 02:03:20 PM
It seems like the answer should be yes. I'll be unbelievably shocked if the answer is no.
I agree it seems like you should be able to use both abilities in type 2 (or 100+ deck in type 1).
Title: Re: Using Amaziah Twice
Post by: CJSports on August 20, 2011, 02:19:37 PM
It's is the same unique character and it has the same name brigade color doesn't really matter. It's like the new and old ezekiel.
Title: Re: Using Amaziah Twice
Post by: Warrior_Monk on August 20, 2011, 02:49:23 PM
That's for deck building, not for special ability use.
Title: Re: Using Amaziah Twice
Post by: ChristianSoldier on August 20, 2011, 08:17:34 PM
I don't think you can, it was ruled that way in a Booster Draft game at Nationals.

And you can have both of them in the same deck if you have 100 or more cards in your deck
Title: Re: Using Amaziah Twice
Post by: CJSports on August 20, 2011, 09:32:25 PM
I don't think you can, it was ruled that way in a Booster Draft game at Nationals.

And you can have both of them in the same deck if you have 100 or more cards in your deck

I don't see why having 100+ cards in a deck makes a difference. I think that is the only amount of the card you have in the deck.
Title: Re: Using Amaziah Twice
Post by: faithraider on August 20, 2011, 10:26:12 PM
A Once per game ability is ONCE per game even if you have several copies of the same card in you type 2 deck.
Title: Re: Using Amaziah Twice
Post by: BubbleBoy on August 20, 2011, 10:27:53 PM
But white Amaziah and purple Amaziah are different cards, with different abilities.
Title: Re: Using Amaziah Twice
Post by: faithraider on August 20, 2011, 10:31:02 PM
The new purple version is an updated version of the white. Unfortunately he is still the same character for game play.   Just like Blue Eve is an updated version of Gold Eve.
Title: Re: Using Amaziah Twice
Post by: Warrior_Monk on August 20, 2011, 11:08:54 PM
The new purple version is an updated version of the white. Unfortunately he is still the same character for game play.   Just like Blue Eve is an updated version of Gold Eve.
Gold Eve and Blue Eve don't do the same thing. Neither do the white and purple versions of King Amaziah.
Title: Re: Using Amaziah Twice
Post by: Gabe on August 20, 2011, 11:50:30 PM
There is technically no precedent for this exact situation, two slightly different copies of the same unique card with a "once per game" ability. I believe that faithraider is correct. That is the ruling to abide by. However we are discussing it and I'll let you know if this ruling changes.
Title: Re: Using Amaziah Twice
Post by: RTSmaniac on August 21, 2011, 12:04:27 AM
thats like seraph and seriphim. different abilities. but ruled the same card. dont ask me...
Title: Re: Using Amaziah Twice
Post by: BubbleBoy on August 21, 2011, 12:19:22 AM
There sort of is a precedent for this with the new and old versions of High Priest Annas, but I guess no one ever asked about that. I did think of it a while ago though.

My instinct was to say that the rules that apply to multiple characters for deckbuilding rules also apply to limited use abilities (that is, same name + same art/brigade --> same usage of abilities). However, what if there is a hero that says, "Once per game, draw a card," and a hero with the same name and same brigade that says "Once per game, discard an evil card"? If you have both in your deck, can you only use one of the abilities? That is to say, how different does an ability have to be before you can use both? There is no tangible example of that at all as far as I know, so maybe it doesn't matter.

Just for reference:

King Amaziah (Ki)

Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: White • Ability: 8 / 9 • Class: Warrior • Special Ability: May choose one evil King of Israel to block. Wall of Protection has no effect. Special ability may be used once per game. • Play As: You may choose one evil King of Israel to block [choose opponent]. If chosen, negate Wall of Protection. Special ability may be used once per game. • Identifiers: OT Male Human, King (Judah), Royalty, Fought Earthly Battle • Verse: II Kings 14:8 • Availability: Kings booster packs (Uncommon)

King Amaziah (RA2)

Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Purple • Ability: 8 / 9 • Class: Warrior • Special Ability: Once per game, you may choose an evil King of Israel to block. If this Hero is captured, you may add your O.T. Hero to the battle. • Identifiers: OT Male Human, King (Judah), Royalty, Fought Earthly Battle • Verse: II Kings 14:8 • Availability: Rock of Ages Extended booster packs (None)
Title: Re: Using Amaziah Twice
Post by: Bryon on August 22, 2011, 01:18:17 AM
thats like seraph and seriphim. different abilities. but ruled the same card. dont ask me...
Gabriel and Gabriel are the same card, too.  And their abilities are practially opposites of each other.  Special abilities have nothing to do with whether a card is a copy of another card.  References have nothing to do with whether a card is a copy of another card.  If titles match and art matches, the cards are the same.  That is true for deck construction, and that is true for "once per game" abilities that appear on those cards (which only applies here so far, as far as I know, but would apply to reprints of cards like Holy Grail, Ark of the Covenant, Jephthah, and others that may have slightly different special abilities that are Once-per-game).

The key thing here is that if you have two copies of a card in your deck, and both of them have a once-per-game ability, then you can only use the ability on one of those cards, and only once. 

That is the almost-official decision on the playtester thread on this topic.  I'll let you know if Rob disagrees.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal