Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Sean on October 09, 2009, 03:01:00 PM

Title: Used up Artifacts and DoN?
Post by: Sean on October 09, 2009, 03:01:00 PM
If I use up an Artifact, can an opponent use DoN to negate it, or is DoN unable to target the Artifact because it is discarded as a result of being used up?
Title: Re: Used up Artifacts and DoN?
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on October 09, 2009, 03:02:54 PM
I don't have time to find the REG quote, but when a limited-use artifact is used for the final time, it is immediately discarded.  Therefore, it would be too late to DoN it.
Title: Re: Used up Artifacts and DoN?
Post by: BubbleBoy on October 09, 2009, 04:34:57 PM
I confirm this. There was a thread about that recently, but I don't care to find it or the REG quote.
Title: Re: Used up Artifacts and DoN?
Post by: Gabe on October 09, 2009, 05:46:23 PM
I agree.  A limited use Artifact with an instant ability is discarded as soon as it reaches it's last use.  Holy Grail and Unholy Writ are good examples.

A limited use Artifact with an ongoing ability is not discarded until it's final use is completed.  Burial Shroud for example is not discarded until your next prep phase following it's second activation.
Title: Re: Used up Artifacts and DoN?
Post by: thestrongangel on October 10, 2009, 01:01:15 AM
I don't have time to find the REG quote, but when a limited-use artifact is used for the final time, it is immediately discarded.  Therefore, it would be too late to DoN it.

The relevant REG quote:

Quote
Some artifacts, covenants, or curses have a limited number of times you can use them. When these come to an end, you must discard them immediately. Once such an artifact, covenant, or curse is activated, it must be counted as having been used. This is true even if other events duplicate the effect of the artifac, covenant, or curse during the turn.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal