Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Sean on October 29, 2009, 01:46:17 PM

Title: Urim and Thummim
Post by: Sean on October 29, 2009, 01:46:17 PM
I have Lampstand (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/lampstandofthesanctuary.htm) active.  It is my prep phase.  I activate Urim and Thummim (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/urimandthummim.htm).  I look at my opponent's hand.  He has Burial.  I activate Lampstand again.

Is my opponent given opportunity to play Burial during the above preparation phase?
Title: Re: Urim and Thummim, quick answer needed
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on October 29, 2009, 02:03:25 PM
No.

He can't play burial until Urim finishes, and Urim doesn't finish until Lampstand is back active.
Title: Re: Urim and Thummim, quick answer needed
Post by: Master KChief on October 29, 2009, 02:14:43 PM
he can play burial when you deactivate lampstand though.
Title: Re: Urim and Thummim, quick answer needed
Post by: Arch Angel on October 29, 2009, 02:18:07 PM
Technically not so. Lampstand is active until a) it is deactivated OR b) a new artifact is activated. There's no gap between the deactivation of an artifact and the activation of the new one, otherwise there's be a chance to play an evil dominant during each of the Lampstand owner's turns because it technically reactivates each turn you leave it up.

It goes like this...

1) Lampstand is Active
2) Lampstand is Deactivated, Urim and Thummim is Active
3) Urim and Thummim is Deactivated, Lampstand is Active

No gaps, no chances to respond.
Title: Re: Urim and Thummim, quick answer needed
Post by: browarod on October 29, 2009, 02:20:08 PM
he can play burial when you deactivate lampstand though.
Can he? Isn't deactivating the current artifact just a step of activating a new artifact and thus not a time when other cards can be played?

*instaposted*

I agree with Arch Angel.
Title: Re: Urim and Thummim, quick answer needed
Post by: Master KChief on October 29, 2009, 02:24:11 PM
if you can back that claim up with a rulebook or reg source, i would be so inclined to agree with you. i see no reason you could not play an evil dominant when lampstand is deactivated.
Title: Re: Urim and Thummim, quick answer needed
Post by: Blood Bought Believer on October 29, 2009, 02:58:25 PM
While the SA for U&T specifically states that it can be deactivated and another activated, I can see why another dominant cannot be played until the new artifact (Lampstand, in this case) is activated.  But I, like Master KChief, do not see why there is not a gap between Lampstand deactivating and U&T activating in which a dominant could be played.
Title: Re: Urim and Thummim, quick answer needed
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on October 29, 2009, 04:03:35 PM
No.

He can't play burial until Urim finishes, and Urim doesn't finish until Lampstand is back active.

+1.  Dominants cannot interrupt an ability.
Title: Re: Urim and Thummim, quick answer needed
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on October 29, 2009, 04:13:12 PM
The only way for Burial to be played is if the person deactivated Urim without using it. Then he can play Burial. If Urim is used then he would have to wait for the sa to complete which activated Lampstand. So if the sa is used no gap. If it isn't, there is a gap
Title: Re: Urim and Thummim, quick answer needed
Post by: Lurch on October 29, 2009, 04:22:53 PM
What about hidden treasures... When it is activated, there is a possibilty that your opponent decides to change his artifact.  When do you have the opportunity to play a DoN?  Is there any?  When he places his hero into battle, battle phase begins.  I know its a little different... But i agree with the others, special ability fulfills before anything else can happen.
Title: Re: Urim and Thummim, quick answer needed
Post by: Arch Angel on October 29, 2009, 05:09:57 PM
here...

"To change the activated artifact, covenant, or curse, you select it and place it face up on the artifact pile and return the other artifact, covenant, or curse face down in the artifact pile."

Rulebook pertaining to artifact activation in the prep phase via the REG.

According to that, you activate the new art before deactivating the previous one. Therefore Urim and Thummim would be active before Lampstand deactivated and then whe U&T completed Lampstand would be active again. No breaks.
Title: Re: Urim and Thummim, quick answer needed
Post by: Gabe on October 29, 2009, 05:44:53 PM
Arch Angel is correct.
Title: Re: Urim and Thummim
Post by: RTSmaniac on October 30, 2009, 12:24:38 PM
philistine priest for the win ;)
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal