Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: JDS on July 10, 2012, 11:25:36 PM
-
"Unique characters with special abilities that have the same name and brigade are limited to a maximum of 1 each per 50 cards in a deck. For example, you can have one David (green brigade) and one David (red brigade) but not two David cards in the green brigade (even if their special abilities vary) in a deck that is smaller than 100 cards." - REG
My question is can I have a Green/Gold Rock of Ages Samuel and a Gold Original Samuel in the same 50-card Type 1 Deck?
Does the fact that one has an SA prevent me from adding the non-SA variant? Does the fact that one is dual-color Gold prevent me from adding the solid-color Gold variants? Both? Neither?
-
The original Samuel does not have a SA, so this particular deck-building rule does not apply. The statement is about each individual card, not the individual character.
-
What if Gold Samuel did have an ability, so say the same question but with Teal/Green Zechariah and Teal Zechariah.
-
..., so say the same question but with Teal/Green Zechariah and Teal Zechariah.
No. Same Name + Same Art
-
The original Samuel does not have a SA, so this particular deck-building rule does not apply. The statement is about each individual card, not the individual character.
So, pardon me if I'm wrong, but you could have a promo Goliath and 1 or 2 unlimited Goliaths in a deck less then a hundred cards?
-
The original Samuel does not have a SA, so this particular deck-building rule does not apply. The statement is about each individual card, not the individual character.
So, pardon me if I'm wrong, but you could have a promo Goliath and 1 or 2 unlimited Goliaths in a deck less then a hundred cards?
If we are talking Type 1, then I believe you can have 3 non-SA Goliath and 1 promo Goliath. Just realize that the old Goliath is risky since he will not get initiative.
-
Nice. That would annoy the heck out of my opponent... Now I just need him as a promo and two unlimited also...
-
..., so say the same question but with Teal/Green Zechariah and Teal Zechariah.
No. Same Name + Same Art
Where does that come from? I thought the art rule was for generics and the brigade rule was for uniques.
"Unique characters with special abilities that have the same name and brigade are limited to a maximum of 1 each per 50 cards in a deck. For example, you can have one David (green brigade) and one David (red brigade) but not two David cards in the green brigade (even if their special abilities vary) in a deck that is smaller than 100 cards.
Generic characters with special abilities that have the same name and card art are limited to a maximum of 1 each per 50 cards in a deck. If the card art is different, you may select a maximum of 1 each per 50 cards in a deck from each variant. For example, you can have one of each of the black brigade Sadducees (4 Variants) cards in a deck that is smaller than 100 cards, provided they each have different card art." - REG, Rule Book
-
I thought the art rule was for generics and the brigade rule was for uniques.
No. Otherwise you could have both Prince of This Worlds and both King of Tyrus'.
-
I thought the art rule was for generics and the brigade rule was for uniques.
No. Otherwise you could have both Prince of This Worlds and both King of Tyrus'.
I don't see why you couldn't, at least according to anything in the REG or rule book.
-
I thought the art rule was for generics and the brigade rule was for uniques.
No. Otherwise you could have both Prince of This Worlds and both King of Tyrus'.
I don't see why you couldn't, at least according to anything in the REG or rule book.
http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/gibeonite-trickery-and-gibeonite-trickery/msg434196/#msg434196 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/gibeonite-trickery-and-gibeonite-trickery/msg434196/#msg434196)
-
you could not have both kings and princes. they have the same art work on them. just look different because of the printing.