Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Crashfach2002 on June 22, 2013, 12:24:02 PM
-
OK, I was asked a question today about unique characters and I feel like I know the answer but I can not find it in any rule books. I know the rule book states that you can only have 1 unique character of the same brigade and that if they have different pictures in different brigades they are legal. But all of the rule books were created before Priests came out and reprinted Prince of this World, King of Tyrus, King Hezekiah, and probably more.
So what is the ruling on having the same unique character with the same picture but different brigades in the same deck? Not only do I want a ruling but I need a place to verify this, if there isn't one it is way to late to get it in the rule books and needs to be placed somewhere for everyone to see. Thanks!
-
http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Duplicate_Cards (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Duplicate_Cards)
Character cards with the same card title and the same art or with the same title and the same brigade are considered duplicates for deck building purposes
-
The rule has been printed in the new rulebook (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/downloads/rules_4th_edition_final.pdf) available on Cactus:
Defining Duplicate Cards:
•Same Title + Same Art = Same Card.
Cards with the same title and same art are considered duplicates. For example, Saph (black brigade) and Saph (gray brigade) are duplicates. Since they have special abilities, you are allowed only 1 Saph in a deck of fewer than 100 cards.
•Same Title + Same Brigade = Same Card (except generic characters with different art).
Cards with the same title and same brigade are considered duplicates. For example, John (purple brigade, deck J) and John (purple
brigade, deck H), and John (purple brigade, promo) are duplicates. Since they have special abilities, you are allowed only 1 John in a deck of fewer than 100 cards. The only exception to this rule is generic characters with different art. For example, you can have 4 different versions of Sadducees in your deck, since they are generic characters with different art.
•Different Art + Different Brigade = Different Card.
Cards that have the same title are not considered duplicates for deck building if their art and brigade are different. For example, you can have one Peter (purple brigade) and one Peter (red brigade) in your deck. However, since Peter is a unique character, you can only have one in play at a time.
Part you questioned is underlined. Also note that the new rulebook talks about cards, not characters, but I haven't gotten a ruling about what that means for enhancements yet. Still waiting here (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/gibeonite-trickery-32796/)for one about Trickery.
-
I knew that was the rules but I couldn't find it. Thanks guys!
-
So you can have all three Davids in a deck but only one of them can be in a territory at a time?
-
So you can have all three Davids in a deck but only one of them can be in a territory at a time?
Correct.
-
So you can have all three Davids in a deck but only one of them can be in a territory at a time?
Correct.
Just for clarity: You can only have 1 in territory because they are the same unique character, but you can have all 3 in your deck because they are all different colors and pictures.