Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: JohnChristensen on October 17, 2012, 05:08:24 PM
-
Continuing Slugfencers' question into my own, given the quote from the REG:
"Players are restricted from performing optional game rules that would result in a player controlling multiple copies of the same unique character. A card is protected from any ability that would cause that card to become a second copy of a unique character controlled by a single player. If a player does end up controlling multiple copies of a unique character, all copies of that character except the original copy are discarded regardless of protection. Note: captured characters are not characters and thus do not affect these rules."
And the quote from Band - "How to Play":
Banding an opponent's character into battle causes you to take control of that character until the character leaves battle.
Would I be correct in saying this means I can't band in my opponents' Isaiah if I have mine in play?
-
Interesting question.... I wouldn't mind knowing the answer to that myself. I never really thought about that. I was playing my brothers the other day and all of us were using an Isaiah deck. Interesting.....
-
That's correct if you have your character in play it restricts you from banding to your opponents version of that unique character
This also means if you have a green David you can't band to your opponents king David
At least that's how I've been told it works
-
That's correct if you have your character in play it restricts you from banding to your opponents version of that unique character
This also means if you have a green David you can't band to your opponents king David
At least that's how I've been told it works
Yes, completely correct. To clarify how this is different from captured characters (as this is a spin-off from the other thread), it was ruled that captured characters are not characters (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/redemption-official-rules/official-new-rulings-announcement-thread/msg480327/#msg480327) for the purpose of duplicates. However, you still may not control two copies of the same unique character (even if they have different names, but are the same character) at the same time, including with a band.
To clarify, the rules state now that all cards who are the same character as one you control are protected from all abilities that would bring them under your control. There are very, very few cases where you can end up with duplicates anymore because of this, and at that point the 'original' (one already controlled by the player now controlling duplicates) stays and all others are discarded.
-
To simplify what Redouter said, your not allowed to band an Opponents' Isaiah into battle if you have Isaiah in play. Nor can you play Isaiah's Call to play Isaiah from your Deck while you control your Opponent's Isaiah. But you can still control your Isaiah, even if you control your Opponent's Captured Isaiah because a Captured Character is treated as a Lost Soul (except Demons)
-
To clarify and simplify everything, you can't cause yourself to control multiple unique characters and captured characters are not road apples.
-
...captured characters are not road apples.
I completely disagree. The definition of Ignore applies such that if we consider "play"ing of apples and whether they can be searched as apples or also oranges you'll see that you are CLEARLY incorrect.
*makes note that he's doing the "making things more complicated to explain every last detail" thing again*
-
I didn't know that Apples ignore Oranges!
I guess you learn something new every day...