Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: stefferweffer on March 31, 2010, 05:30:09 PM

Title: Understanding SELF Part TWO
Post by: stefferweffer on March 31, 2010, 05:30:09 PM
Now I have even MORE questions about SELF.  I have a multi-evil color deck where if I could have a 1/1 multi=color EC I could really wreak some havoc.

1)  Say I copy your 5/5 hero.  The I use one of the evil set asides on Self that allows him/her to gain 1/1 per turn set aside.  I bring him back after one turn, and now I am 6/6.  If your hero leaves play, am I now 1/1 and still in play?

2)  Can I use that evil set aside that allows me to choose whether he comes back 12/12 or 1/1?  Say I do so and Self is now 1/1.  Is he still a "copy" of that hero, in the sense that if the hero leaves play I still have to discard Self?

3)  If I capture the hero that Self is copying, that hero is still "in play", right?

4)  Maybe this would work.  Put two OT 1/1 heroes in my deck, along with Stalks of Flax.  I activate Stalks of Flax and give you my two 1/1 heroes for two turns.  I am now allowed to bring Self in and copy one of "your" new 1/1 heroes, correct?  Would anything change after I get my heroes back in two turns?

5)  I assume Torment will not save Self if he is being discarded because his copied hero is being discarded?

6)  Do Self's power/toughness change as the hero's does?  For example, if I copied Joel (1/1), and Joel gets a lost soul, now Joel is 2/2.  Is Self now 2/2 or still 1/1?  Or I copy a 4/4 hero and activate Plagued with Diseases.  Does the toughness of Self go down because the toughness of the hero just did?

Title: Re: Understanding SELF Part TWO
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 31, 2010, 05:45:30 PM
1. No. Self's ability is a delayed trigger that activates (Makes Self 0/0) when the original selected hero is removed from play.

2. Self still becomes 0/0 once the original selected hero is removed from play.

3. A captured hero is still in play.

4. This would work to make Self 1/1. Once the original selected hero (no matter who controls him) is removed from play, Self becomes 0/0.

5. Self is officially a 0/0 EC, so Torment will not help since Self will still be discarded again anyway. Torment heals the discard, not the fact that Self is 0/0.

6. The original copy ability is an instant ability and therefore not dynamic.
Title: Re: Understanding SELF Part TWO
Post by: stefferweffer on March 31, 2010, 05:59:08 PM
Thanks so much.  One more thought.  Can Self be converted with Holy Grail to become a multi-color hero?
Title: Re: Understanding SELF Part TWO
Post by: Warrior_Monk on March 31, 2010, 08:35:47 PM
Thanks so much.  One more thought.  Can Self be converted with Holy Grail to become a multi-color hero?
no.
Title: Re: Understanding SELF Part TWO
Post by: BubbleBoy on March 31, 2010, 08:51:52 PM
Put two OT 1/1 heroes in my deck, along with Stalks of Flax.  I activate Stalks of Flax and give you my two 1/1 heroes for two turns.  I am now allowed to bring Self in and copy one of "your" new 1/1 heroes, correct?  Would anything change after I get my heroes back in two turns?
This would work to make Self 1/1. Once the original selected hero (no matter who controls him) is removed from play, Self becomes 0/0.
I disagree with this answer. Self specifies that you have to copy one of opponent's heroes, meaning the opponent has to own them, and your opponent does not own your heroes when you use Stalks of Flax.
Title: Re: Understanding SELF Part TWO
Post by: BubbleBoy on April 01, 2010, 08:33:33 AM
As an extension to question #2, if I copy a hero, then that hero is captured (or converted), then the captured (or converted) hero is discarded, does Self still discard itself? The hero never left play - only a captured hero (or EC) left play.
Title: Re: Understanding SELF Part TWO
Post by: Warrior_Monk on April 01, 2010, 08:35:27 AM
As an extension to question #2, if I copy a hero, then that hero is captured (or converted), then the captured (or converted) hero is discarded, does Self still discard itself? The hero never left play - only a captured hero (or EC) left play.
since "Captured heroes are not heroes," I would say that once the hero is no long a hero, Self dies, whether by Capture, Conversion, or discard.
Title: Re: Understanding SELF Part TWO
Post by: BubbleBoy on April 01, 2010, 08:37:50 AM
But the hero never left play. It only became something else. Then that something else left play.
Title: Re: Understanding SELF Part TWO
Post by: Warrior_Monk on April 01, 2010, 08:44:18 AM
But the hero never left play. It only became something else. Then that something else left play.
it is no longer a hero, so it's gone.
Title: Re: Understanding SELF Part TWO
Post by: BubbleBoy on April 01, 2010, 08:49:01 AM
But the hero never left play. It only became something else. Then that something else left play.
it is no longer a hero, so it's gone.
I think you are dumb. So there.
Title: Re: Understanding SELF Part TWO
Post by: Warrior_Monk on April 01, 2010, 09:06:51 AM
But the hero never left play. It only became something else. Then that something else left play.
it is no longer a hero, so it's gone.
I think you are dumb. So there.
*insert high pitched voice of a 3rd grader* I KNOW YOU ARE, BUT WHAT AM I?
Title: Re: Understanding SELF Part TWO
Post by: BubbleBoy on April 01, 2010, 09:32:35 AM
But the hero never left play. It only became something else. Then that something else left play.
it is no longer a hero, so it's gone.
I think you are dumb. So there.
*insert high pitched voice of a 3rd grader* I KNOW YOU ARE, BUT WHAT AM I?
A terd.
Title: Re: Understanding SELF Part TWO
Post by: stefferweffer on April 01, 2010, 10:18:06 AM
Thanks so much.  One more thought.  Can Self be converted with Holy Grail to become a multi-color hero?
no.
Then why, when Saul becomes a hero (Paul) via Holy Grail, is he multi-color?

Thanks for clarifying this for me.
Title: Re: Understanding SELF Part TWO
Post by: Professoralstad on April 01, 2010, 11:10:06 AM
Because his ability (identifier) is: "When Saul is converted, he becomes Paul". Paul is a multicolored Hero. Holy Grail didn't make him multicolor, his identifier did. Holy Grail can only convert EC's to any (one) brigade. Multicolor is eight brigades.
Title: Re: Understanding SELF Part TWO
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on April 01, 2010, 05:21:53 PM
Another question.

He gains the identifiers of said character right? What if I copied a hero sadducee/pharisee and had High Priests Palace out? Would I then have a permanent 0/0 multicolor EC?

If I was to keep him alive like this, would I then be allowed to boost his stats with a set aside?
Title: Re: Understanding SELF Part TWO
Post by: Minister Polarius on April 01, 2010, 05:35:47 PM
If you somehow managed to copy Gamaliel, Paul, or Nicodemus (or a Converted Phar/Sad) with HPP out, get rid of the guy Self copied, then use Worship of Milcom on him, you'd have a permanent 1/1 multicolor EC.
Title: Re: Understanding SELF Part TWO
Post by: Warrior_Monk on April 01, 2010, 06:30:06 PM
WIN. epicness.
Title: Re: Understanding SELF Part TWO
Post by: BubbleBoy on April 01, 2010, 10:47:37 PM
If you somehow managed to copy Gamaliel, Paul, or Nicodemus (or a Converted Phar/Sad) with HPP out, get rid of the guy Self copied, then use Worship of Milcom on him, you'd have a permanent 1/1 multicolor EC.
So, he wouldn't be discarded in set-aside?
Title: Re: Understanding SELF Part TWO
Post by: Minister Polarius on April 01, 2010, 10:58:10 PM
I think you only get discarded from play if your defense is 0.
Title: Re: Understanding SELF Part TWO
Post by: Professoralstad on April 02, 2010, 10:16:10 AM
I think you only get discarded from play if your defense is 0.

I don't think so. Chemosh and Doctrine Like Leaven are two examples of set-aside characters being discarded when their defense reaches zero. Since HPP wouldn't protect him in set-aside, I think he's discarded. What I think might work is if you used Self to copy an Angel (so that he's a demon) and then you played the AW card that gets placed on a Site to make your black brigade demons gain 4/4, you could have a 4/4 multicolor EC. I think that's the only way to keep Self after the hero is discarded though, as I don't know of any other cards that continually make an EC gain abilities.
Title: Re: Understanding SELF Part TWO
Post by: Minister Polarius on April 02, 2010, 12:27:39 PM
In T2 you could just block with him as 0/0 from territory, win, and 1/1.
Title: Re: Understanding SELF Part TWO
Post by: BubbleBoy on April 02, 2010, 12:45:11 PM
In T2 you could just block with him as 0/0 from territory, win, and 1/1.
So, Self could be really good in T2 against heroless! ...Wait...
Title: Re: Understanding SELF Part TWO
Post by: Professoralstad on April 02, 2010, 12:54:40 PM
In T2 you could just block with him as 0/0 from territory, win, and 1/1.

Good call. Actually, that makes me wonder: when does experience credit get applied? During battle resolution? After all characters return to territory? Somewhere in between? In this case, it could make a difference.
Title: Re: Understanding SELF Part TWO
Post by: BubbleBoy on April 02, 2010, 01:02:58 PM
But the fact that you have to rely on your opponent's characters in order for Self to work just makes him that much less reliable, even if this combo works. Few people use Paul (or convertable Pharisees or Sadducees at all), and even fewer people (if they use Joseph of Arimathea) use Nicodemus, and no one uses Gamaliel.

By the way, if things like Elijah's Mantle or Plagued with Diseases are active, or a hero you are copying has been permanently decreased by Job's Three Friends, or has experience credit or something, do things like that factor into Self's ability?
Title: Re: Understanding SELF Part TWO
Post by: Professoralstad on April 02, 2010, 04:03:57 PM
By the way, if things like Elijah's Mantle or Plagued with Diseases are active, or a hero you are copying has been permanently decreased by Job's Three Friends, or has experience credit or something, do things like that factor into Self's ability?

Elijah's Mantle and PwD: No. Those are not permanent increases, and they only affect heroes.
Experience Credit and Job's Three Friends and other permanent increases/decreases: Yes.
Title: Re: Understanding SELF Part TWO
Post by: BubbleBoy on April 02, 2010, 04:13:34 PM
Elijah's Mantle and PwD: No. Those are not permanent increases, and they only affect heroes.
Experience Credit and Job's Three Friends and other permanent increases/decreases: Yes.
Where's this in the rules?
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal