Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Watchman on March 15, 2017, 09:28:59 PM
-
I'm not very familiar with T2 deck construction so I want to make sure I have a few things in order before a tourney I'm hosting this Saturday.
Can a player have two of the same kind of sites with special abilities in play at the same time in his territory/LoB (such as Jerusalem and Caesarea Phillips)? I know the same kind of unique character cannot be in play at the same time. What about the same kind of weapon (I.e., two Naaman's Chariots and Horses) on two different characters in territory?
I know people really enjoy playing T2 but to me it just seems to be redundant and overkill to me. What are you supposed to do with all of the extra, unique duplicate cards that you can't put into play but need room in your hand, just discard them?
Thanks
Derek
-
yes, yes, and that is part of deck building just like t1
-
I love Type 2 because it allows you to play with characters that you don't get a chance to in Type 1. During this last Nationals I had at least 15 different good and 15 different evil characters. You normally only double up on the top 2-4 characters that you feel are the go to for your deck, but there are so many good characters that don't get used in Type 1 but can really shine in Type 2!
-
Thanks gents. Yeah, Chris, when I was building the deck tonight I was thinking how I can add in some characters and enhancements and such that I like but am not able to put into my T1 version of this deck that I have. So good points you brought up. Thanks! I'll have fun with it.
By the way, how many DAE and DAC can I have in my deck, such as Paul's Belt or King Saul? What about Firefoxes given its uniqueness as a good enh and evil character.
-
You can have as many DAE or DAC cards as you like, but they count as neutral like Lost Souls, Sites and Artifacts. So the more you add, the less good and evil you can have, so be careful not to have too many neutral as it can really water down your deck.
-
Keep in mind though that you can only have 2 of each specific DAE/DAC (because they have two brigades) and because Fire Foxes has 3 brigades you can only have one of those.
-
10-4 thanks.
-
For deck building purposes The Roman Jailer is considered an evil character with three brigade value (hence only one per T2 deck), correct?
-
No, because Roman Jailer has to begin as Gray, he is only one brigade for deck building.
Same applies to the old Saul/Paul.
-
I believe The Roman Jailer, like ould Saul/Paul, is an EC at face value and therefore counts as a single brigade EC for deck building purposes (so you could have 4 in a T2 deck). He's not a DAC because he always starts as an EC.
*instaposted*
-
Yeah I figured he was an EC at face value but wasn't sure about the brigade situation.
Thanks.
-
Hello, I have posted regarding fire fox in the earlier post and I thought Gabe have clarified because Fire Fox is both good and Evil is considered to be neutral. Thanks.
Also, I have some unclear question I have to make, what is the rule of putting same character but different brigade and art? For example, for a t2 deck, how many King David (Promo) and David the psalmist (Clouds) can I put in a t2 deck?
Thank you.
-
So Fire Foxes is 3 colors because you can choose what to make it when it enters play, where as Roman Jailer and Saul HAVE to be gray evil when they enter play (from hand, at least). You can have 4 copies of King David, 2 copies of David, the Psalmist, 4 Copies of a Red David (Kings or Warriors) in the same type 2 deck, but you can only have one David in play at a time.
-
However, Fire fox is both good and evil, so it shouldn't consider as three brigade. Thanks.
Michael Leung
-
However, Fire fox is both good and evil, so it shouldn't consider as three brigade. Thanks.
Michael Leung
So because it can be either says that it doesn't have 3 colors printed on it?
-
Crash is correct. Cards that let you choose alignment when played count all their brigades when it comes to deck building. (King Saul CoW has 2, Fire Foxes has 3).
Cards that always begin as one alignment only count the brigade(s) of the alignment of which they start for deck building.
-
So when comes to T2 deck building, what category do I considered as? Do I counted with the good, or evil and because it has three brigade, I can only have one in the deck? Thanks you.
Michael Leung
-
Fire Foxes is considered a neutral card since at face value it is a good card and an evil card.
-
But because it is 3 brigades at face value, i think you can only have one.
-
But because it is 3 brigades at face value, i think you can only have one.
That's correct. I forgot about that part of his question. :)