Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Ironica on December 10, 2010, 11:03:06 PM

Title: Two Quick Questions
Post by: Ironica on December 10, 2010, 11:03:06 PM
1) When thje card says that golaith (sp?) can retain as a weapon, does he have to be in battle to use that identifier?

2) For T2, if I have a unique ec out, can I place another copy face down in territory without having to discard one (ie when I use darkness or site guard special ability)?

It's sad that I haven't been able to play in so long that I doubt myself on these semi basic questions :(.
Title: Re: Two Quick Questions
Post by: adotson85 on December 10, 2010, 11:35:40 PM
1. Yes, if it is an identifier

2. No, unless an elder has ruled otherwise.
Title: Re: Two Quick Questions
Post by: Ironica on December 10, 2010, 11:54:22 PM
I ask the second question because I remember it being said that face down cards are considered out of play.
Title: Re: Two Quick Questions
Post by: adotson85 on December 10, 2010, 11:59:35 PM
I ask the second question because I remember it being said that face down cards are considered out of play.

Here is the discussion I recall. I found the Duplite Card rule out of the REG, so unless an elder has overruled it I'm assuming it is played that way.

http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=21991.msg345081#msg345081 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=21991.msg345081#msg345081)
Title: Re: Two Quick Questions
Post by: Gabe on December 11, 2010, 12:51:33 AM
Just to confirm that adotson85 is correct, cards that are out of play (including face down) still count towards duplicates
Title: Re: Two Quick Questions
Post by: Ironica on December 11, 2010, 02:05:43 AM
Thanks all :).

I've been tempted to make another T2 deck on RTS and wanted to see if I could use darkness/siteguard as a way to decrease my hand of duplicates.  O well.
Title: Re: Two Quick Questions
Post by: adotson85 on December 11, 2010, 02:19:49 AM
Laver is always an option
Title: Re: Two Quick Questions
Post by: The M on December 11, 2010, 10:53:11 AM
1. I actually don't think so.
For Goliath's Armor, the abilifier could activate outside of battle and you could place it on Goliath.
For Goliath's Spear, the ability could only be used in battle.
Title: Re: Two Quick Questions
Post by: YourMathTeacher on December 11, 2010, 11:04:15 AM
1. I actually don't think so.
For Goliath's Armor, the abilifier could activate outside of battle and you could place it on Goliath.

Goliath's Armor's identifier does not activate outside battle. Remember, for now, that most "Play As" in the REG are part of larger project to update the REG. The current wording on the card says "retain" which means the card had to be placed first. The "Play As" says "if placed" so it still has to be placed there first. Goliath's Armor does not "Place" itself anywhere.
Title: Re: Two Quick Questions
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on December 11, 2010, 11:06:08 AM
Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Black • Ability: 0 / 5 • Class: Weapon • Special Ability: Bearer is immune to purple brigade. Cannot be negated. • Play As: Bearer is immune to purple brigade. Cannot be negated. If placed on Goliath, Goliath may hold until discarded. • Identifiers: OT, Depicts a Weapon • Verse: I Samuel 17:5-6 • Availability: Faith of our Fathers booster packs (None)

According to the reg, it isn't the identifer, but the special ability. So it has to be in battle to activate.
Title: Re: Two Quick Questions
Post by: YourMathTeacher on December 11, 2010, 11:14:37 AM
Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Black • Ability: 0 / 5 • Class: Weapon • Special Ability: Bearer is immune to purple brigade. Cannot be negated. • Play As: Bearer is immune to purple brigade. Cannot be negated. If placed on Goliath, Goliath may hold until discarded. • Identifiers: OT, Depicts a Weapon • Verse: I Samuel 17:5-6 • Availability: Faith of our Fathers booster packs (None)

According to the reg, it isn't the identifer, but the special ability. So it has to be in battle to activate.

Again, the REG is undergoing an overhaul. It is an identifier for now, and it says "retain."
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal