Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: yirgogo on April 28, 2015, 07:39:57 PM
-
1. If I block with Abimelech, and I play Grapes of Wrath, then does his second part of the ability trigger?
Abimelech: If Gideon is in your discard pile, negate and discard an Artifact or single color Site. If you win this battle, you may discard an evil card.
-
Yes because this battle he prevented a rescue.
-
The answer to this depends on the solution reached in this thread (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/discarding-cards-with-triggered-abilities-in-the-battle-phase/). Since Abimelech is a trigger, but he's in discard pile due to Grapes, depending on how triggers are ruled in that thread he might be able to still trigger and he might not.
-
I had it ruled that he didn't win the battle, last Minnesota game night, but an elder wasn't there, but based on what you said, he won the battle, but his ability is the issue?
-
I had it ruled that he didn't win the battle, last Minnesota game night, but an elder wasn't there, but based on what you said, he won the battle, but his ability is the issue?
Oh he definitely won the battle. We're hard at work on resolving when abilities do and do not work. I would be inclined to rule that you would be able to discard an evil card after Grapes.
-
@RDT: I would agree with this.
@Browarod: How is this different than mutual removal? Is it just order of abilities in Grapes?
-
As RDT said, Abimelech definitely wins the battle, it's just a matter of whether his ability can trigger if he's no longer in play.
-
Sorry, I had a similar, "what would trigger Abimelech's ability " thread, and mutual removal was on the list. I guess I didn't distinguish between win the battle and would it actually trigger since he is no longer in play.
-
Can you link that thread? I tried to find it, what is it called?
-
Can you link that thread? I tried to find it, what is it called?
The answer to this depends on the solution reached in this thread (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/discarding-cards-with-triggered-abilities-in-the-battle-phase/).
The underlined part above and in my original post is a link to the thread.
-
Sorry, missed it.